Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

the beginning

You think your parents are old.  My father was 56 and my mother was 38 when I was born.  Yet, I was not an oops baby.   That’s right, they decided at that age to have one more baby!  (Lots of my cousins have children older than me.)

I was 17 when I graduated from high school.  Less than two weeks later my father died.  One month later my grandma died.  That was a lot to process for a 17-year-old.  I had questions for God that no one seemed to be able to answer.   God Himself  seemed very quiet.

I found myself on the fence with my Christianity.   Later I would learn that sitting on the fence was really like sitting one foot inside the devil’s camp.  Doing my own thing just made it easier to say  no to God and that made it easier to justify my decisions.

What a slippery slope that becomes when Christians make excuses (or try to justify behavior) so they feel better.

That fall I moved into an apartment, an hour away, with my best friend.    I was  on my way to fulfilling my plan of becoming a CPA.

I would  soon learn that best friends don’t make great roommates.

One day I came back to the apartment and she had moved out.   I had lost my roommate and my best friend.   So in less than six months I had lost my father, my grandmother and my best friend.

I had lots of unanswered questions.

I finished up the semester, moved home, enrolled in a college closer to home, got engaged to a ‘good’ guy and continued on my course of being a CPA.

Finally, God got my attention in a huge way.  No more sitting on the fence, I had to make a decision.  It was my “Jonah” experience.  I wasn’t in the belly of a fish but I might as well have been.  Either God was who He said He was and could be trusted with all of me or He wasn’t.   Either God was going to get all of me or none of me.  I couldn’t imagine a life without God but God made it clear that He was not going to rubber stamp approval on my plan.

Deep down I hungered for that intimacy I once had with God.  I had tasted and seen that God was good.  (Psalm 34:8)  I knew that He had a plan for me.  (Jeremiah 29:11)   Yet, I still had those unanswered questions.

I stopped running and sent off my application to Bible college.   It was a turning point in my life.  I gave up all my dreams for His plans for me even though I didn’t have a clue what those plans were.

Looking back I see how small my dreams really were.  God has huge plans for His kids and it is never an even trade.  God gives so much more than He asks us to lay down!

That first year of Bible college was amazing.  I was like a sponge being saturated with the love of God.   An interesting thing started to happen.  I found answer after answer to my questions just by reading the Word of God.    God isn’t ever truly silent.  He has page after page after page of communication.  All we have to do is pick up the Bible and read it.

God graciously dealt with me about the  issue of my engagement.  That was the last thing for me to lay down.   I  tried hard to justify that relationship.     Did I really mean it when I said not my will but Yours Lord?   Was I going to settle for something less than God’s will?

Love is a strong driving force.  It finally came down to who I loved more.   God heals a broken heart and I got to experience that first hand.

After graduation I found myself wondering what was next.  Through a chain of events I ended up managing the college deli during the day.  It was great.  I love people and had plenty of opportunity to be used by God.

Months later I would meet the guy who would sweep me off my feet.

We met at the end of January, got engaged in May and married in August.  He says it had to happen fast so that I wouldn’t have time to change my mind.  Having broken off two engagements I was just a little jumpy about serious relationships.  I had to know that I know that I know that this  was indeed the one.  I refused to settle for anything less than God’s best!

God does make His will clear to us, if we wait on Him.   I truly married my very best friend.  The good, the bad, the great, the very difficult — we have had it all and I am sure there are plenty of hills and valleys in our future but a three-fold cord is not quickly broken.  (Ecclesiastes 4:12)

then came children (to be continued)

Here we are at 25 years!

til next time

October 31, 2012 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, relationships | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Amazing how God leads us each step of the way. Just remembering some of the details on things you mentioned. Glad He brought you to NCBC, 31 years ago, wow, can you believe its been 31 years since we first met?!

    Comment by Rose | October 31, 2012 | Reply

    • Wow time sure flies Rose. I still remember the day we met — Only God knew then what a great friendship was about to start.

      Comment by Gloria | November 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. As for God, His way is perfect . . . and He makes my way perfect. Psalm 18:30,32

    They say that people in love grow to look like each other and I must say that in the second photo you look like twins.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • What a great verse Angela!
      As for looking alike — love it!!

      Comment by Gloria | November 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

