Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

pumpkin flan brulee – super easy and delish!

Each week I still get numerous hits on my post 5 simple, yummy dessert recipes.

I have lots of recipes that I want to try.  The good ones may end up on my blog.  I am hoping that this will motivate me to try some of those recipes that I have been hanging on to.

I was given some fresh pumpkin puree and so I pulled out my recipe box – that is stuffed with more recipes than I could make in my lifetime – and picked out  a new one.

I have a great system.  Once I have tried a new recipe – if it is good it gets a smiley face on it.  If it is not  good or so-so, it gets thrown away.

Pumpkin Flan Brulee – the picture made it look so yummy.  It is creme brulee with pumpkin so why wouldn’t it be yummy?

Here it is and the recipe gets a smiley face on it.   I love things that look great but are a snap to whip up.

Pumpkin Flan Brulee

1 cup pumpkin

¼ cup honey

¾ tsp cinnamon

5 eggs

1 can evaporated milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

¼ cup brown sugar

Combine pumpkin, honey and cinnamon.

Beat the eggs.  Add milk, vanilla and pumpkin mixture.

Mix well.  Slowly pour into 6 individual custard cups that are sitting in a pan of hot water.

Bake at 325 for 45 minutes. (my oven only took 35 min)

Test with a knife at the edge of the  custard.  Center will continue to cook when removed from oven due to small size.

Sprinkle brown sugar over the baked custard.

Broil for 2 minutes until sugar bubbles, watching every second as it burns easily.  Cover and chill.

Enjoy!

So with the Thanksgiving season upon us this is quite festive.  You can also bake it in a 10 inch baking dish – increase the temp to 350 and cook for an hour or until set.  (Insert knife into custard.  Blade should come out clean,)

Curt was surprised to have a somewhat healthy dessert waiting for him when he got home from class.  Since the kids are not crazy about pumpkin I am thinking we each of 2 more to eat.  Ahhh, yum!

til next time

November 20, 2012 - Posted by | recipes | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

