Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

stumble in the darkness

Whack!

Ouch!  (hopping around on one foot)

Walking down a darkened hallway barefoot —– not a bright idea, especially when we have been cleaning out my mother’s room and piling stuff in that hallway.

How can something so small hurt so bad?

Since I love to go barefoot, I have stubbed one or more toes more times than I can count.  However, after this little episode, I may become a part of the “I wear shoes all the time” group.

Actually there’s little chance of that happening.  I really don’t like wearing shoes.  Is it strange that someone who loves to shop for shoes and has a closet overflowing with shoes, really prefers to go barefoot?

No one ever said that all our preferences had to make sense.

As with most things in life there are choices.  I can either wear shoes all the time, walk very slowly,  or turn on a light.

Turn on a light.

Familiarity can bring a false sense of security.  I know where things are so therefore I can walk through a dark room to turn on a light or walk down a dark hallway to get to a room.  What happens when someone has moved or added something in the path?  We may stumble in the darkness.

“Early the morning, I will celebrate the light.  As I stumble in the darkness I will call Your name by night.”  ‘God of Wonders’ by Chris Tomlin

Our Christian journey is just that — a journey.  I would love to say that I do all things right, that I handle every situation with excellence, and I walk in love at all times.  What I can say is that it is my heart’s desire to make the right choice,  I do want to handle each situation with excellence and I am walking in more love now that this time last year.  God is at work in me and I want to be all that He knows I can be.

Turn on the light!

“Thy Word is a lamp unto me feet and a light unto my path.”   (Psalm 119:105)

A reason so many Christians stumble in the darkness is because it has been days or months since they have turned on the light.  They fall into this false sense of security that says “I already know all that stuff; I’ve been walking with the Lord for years.”

The Word  illuminates our path.   It reveals to us areas that need growth.  It encourages and builds us up so that we are ready to handle whatever comes our way.  If we aren’t reading it then we shouldn’t be surprised when we stumble in the darkness.

“Even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.” (Psalm 139:10)  No matter what we face God is with us.

Going back to a previous question.  How can something so small hurt so bad? Sin hurts.  The good news is we don’t have to stay there.  When we have stumbled or God brings conviction,  with a repentant heart we go to Him and He restores us.

 “The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law; but thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” (1 Corinthians 15:56-57)

til next time

November 26, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Gloria…….just want to let you know that I nominated your blog for the Liebster Blog Award. http://unwalled.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/liebster-award ,,,,,,continue to inspire, encourage and bless others……..have a great day!……..Kim

    Comment by Kim | November 27, 2012 | Reply

    • thanks Kim 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | November 29, 2012 | Reply

      • My pleasure!

        Comment by Kim | November 29, 2012

  2. I’ve always said I can walk through my own house in the dark because I know where everything is. Of course, my dear hubby isn’t very good at putting things back in place. In fact, he is a champion at putting things in the oddest places – so at times I have to be careful. Maybe it is just as well that I am one who ‘always wears shoes’ (even just to walk a few feet) though they are open wedge sandals, so a stubbed toe isn’t out of the question.

    Now, in the Christian life, I NEVER want to walk ANYWHERE without my Light, and the good thing is that I don’t have to. He is always with me, showing me the way – but I have to pay attention to Him. When I do err, He gently (or not so gently if I’m not paying attention) draws me back to Himself and His way.

    What an amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | November 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes indeed Angela – an amazing God. I, too, am grateful that I never go anywhere without Him!! My life is in His hands. I was talking with a friend the other night about conviction and condemnation. God brings conviction and gives us the power to change. The enemy of our souls will try to use condemnation and guilt. I am forever grateful that there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

      Comment by Gloria | November 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

