Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Black Friday

For some shopping on Black Friday is not even a consideration.  For others a little dab will do them.  The news media broadcasts the greed and violence that some experience while shopping on Black Friday.   However,  I do believe that the majority of people who go have a good time and that kindness is evident even when you are shoulder to shoulder with strangers.

I don’t even know how many years we have ventured out.  Let me just say that I don’t remember  a Thanksgiving weekend without Black Friday shopping.

Yes that is snow!!

When we arrived in MN on Thanksgiving it was warm.  However, as the day went on it started to snow.

Here we are heading out.

This is the first year my nephew decided to see what all the fuss was about.

It was also the first year we went for 10 hours before heading back to my sisters.  I did wonder how my mom ever kept up with us.  I cherish the memories I have of getting up at O’ dark 30 and there she was dressed and ready to go.

Galina and I remembered our Santa hats

We wear fun hats.  They serve two purposes.  First it is way easier to spot a hat when searching for each other and secondly it causes laughter.

I love to laugh.  Laughter is a universal language.

We are having fun even if we are freezing

you are one of the first 40 🙂

When we left IA it was in the 50’s and I had open-backed shoes on.  After waiting in the freezing cold and snow for Old Navy to open, the first thing I did was head to the boot department.  Brr.

There were people everywhere.  Just when I thought no way was I getting any closer (after all I do have space issues) –  I noticed that the people down in front were actually passing boots back to those behind them.  I called out ‘Size 8 please’ and wala someone handed me a pair of boots.  I stood there, in the background, for a while just watching that gentleman and lady grabbing boots from up high and tossing them to strangers.  Sad that things like that don’t make the 10 o’clock news.

Breakfast break.  Tradition has it that McDonald’s is the place to eat.  A little food and lots of caffeine and we are ready to continue.

McDonald’s gift to us for stopping for breakfast at O’ Dark thirty

 

All in all,  it was another successful and memorable Black Friday experience.  Successful because I easily stayed on budget while getting  some terrific deals.  Memorable because it was 10 hours with my sister, niece, nephew and ‘daughter’.    It is one tradition worth keeping.

til next time

November 29, 2012 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I guess the equivalent here would be the Boxing Day sales. I’ve never been to one but I doubt they would be as big as your Black Friday.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | November 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Angela people here may wait in line for many hours if they are going after the big ticket items, like big screen tv’s. I have no interest in the big ticket items.

      Comment by Gloria | December 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

