Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a baby changes everything

tick tock

Time waits for no man.

Everyone gets the same 24 hours a day/ 7 days a week.

The Mayan calendar stops on December 21 — do I find this significant?  Do I think that the world will really end on the 21st?  No!  Clearly without a doubt — no!

Yet sometimes time seems to stand still:

the senseless shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary

while waiting with my step dad for the ambulance to arrive during his stroke

of course time seemed to stand still during the days following 9-11

tick tock

Isn’t it funny how eight hours at work can seem to drag on and on but those same eight hours elsewhere can fly by?

Perception

Why does it seem that time is ticking faster than it ever did before?  Why is it that I feel that I am moving slower than I ever did before?

Houston we have a problem.

As a pastor/pastor’s wife of a small town church there are many behind the scene things that need to take place and lately there doesn’t seem to be enough time or energy.  I used to be so good at multitasking.  Not so much anymore.  (In fact, my son just reminded me that I was about to burn the meat on the stove.  Oy!)

In ministry if you are not careful, it can overwhelm you.  Even if you are careful (be not weary in doing good….) there will still be days when your feelings will try to over run you.  Sometimes the thought of quitting seems so much easier than the thought of pushing through the emotion.  Good thing I learned a long time ago to not make any life changing decisions while dealing with emotional overload.

This morning was one of those weary days for me.  Maybe it is peri-menopause which has officially messed up my sleeping pattern.  (Have I mentioned that I do not function well on little sleep?)   Maybe it is due to too much work related things this week.   Maybe it is a whole host of little things that seem to pile up on top of each other.  (Thank you Larry for helping to lower the flag.)

The why is really not the issue.  It is the ‘how am I going to handle this’ that is important.

I am grateful for such a wonderful worship team.  They make it easy to join right in and place your focus on the One who is truly worthy of our worship.

The songs for today were:   A couple Christmas carols and Amazing Grace (my chains are gone), Blessed be your name (You give and take away), To God be the glory, and In the presence of Jehovah.

“In the presence of Jehovah, God Almighty, Prince of Peace.  Troubles vanish, hearts are mended,  in  the presence of the King.” 

After worship Christy got up to sing the song “A baby changes everything.”   It was evident that she sang it with all her heart and soul.  What a powerful song!  While she was singing God reminded me that this’ was why I do what I do.  This is why it is worth the price.

Jesus changes everything.

Sharing my love for Him with others

crying together

laughing together

praying together

getting to witness  God at work in their lives

yes, it is why I do what I do.

Jesus changes everything!

I would have rather had Christy’s performance of the song but this one will have to do.

til next time

December 16, 2012 - Posted by | ministry, perimenopause | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I relate!
    In my hectic years in children’s ministry, where we worked extremely long hours with hardly time to sneak a bite and only 3 or 4 hours sleep a night, I very often asked myself WHY I was doing it . . . and immediately answered that I knew why. The “why” not only makes anything and everything worth while, but also rewards us abundantly.

    He alone is worthy and He alone enables and empowers us and He alone is due the glory.

    What an incredibly amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | December 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Amen Angela! The area I sometimes struggle in is the area of what God wants me to do and what things I am doing that God does not intend of expect me to do and that I need to let go of, even if it means they do not get done. Sometimes the ‘work’ of the ministry gets in the way of the ‘ministry’ of the ministry. If that makes sense.
      Truly what an amazing God we serve!

      Comment by Gloria | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] Fast forward to last Sunday.  Sundays in December require more planning and more practicing.  It is so worth it though.  This year we had  a drummer debut, a couple of duets, a vocal solo,  a solo with piano and guitar,  and of course I blogged on the song “a baby changes everything”. […]

    Pingback by days « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | December 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

