Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

ending 2012 and starting 2013 with praise

How did you ring in the New Year?

In the past we have participated in youth lock-ins, getting together with friends, having a quiet evening at home, or lately it has been ringing in the new year fast asleep.

game night 2013This year we decided to have a game night/praise service at church.   The idea was to meet at 7:00  for  games and food.   Then at 9:00 we would go upstairs for a time of worship.

I expected that I would be home easy by 11:00 and fast asleep by midnight.   After all, I am usually asleep on the couch by 8:00 on Mondays.

We had a great turnout – over half of our average Sunday morning attendance.

Good friends, good food, and games made for a wonderful couple of hours.

Then it was time for worship.  What a wonderful way to end 2012.  This year has had its share of challenges, but it has also been a year filled with the blessings of God.

One of the  final challenges of the year came with the start of worship.  The projector refused to work.  I spent the first few songs trying to get it to work.  Praise God we have an updated chorus book that we could use.

I finally decided that the projector just wasn’t going to work and I was not going to waste another moment on it.  It was time for praising.

We had a time  of worship, communion, more worship, a time of prayer, Curt shared and then he officially closed the service.  However, there were those of us who were just not ready to be done.  So we sang the last set of songs.  With 15 minutes left before midnight and our last song on the list had been sung, Pat suggested we sing – “I will ride” and Kent requested “I see the Lord”.   We entered 2013 singing “and I cry Holy, Holy is the Lord, and the temple is filled with the glory of God…….”

By the 19th song our voices had been stretched and I am sure our worship leaders fingers were feeling it but you couldn’t tell it as we rocked the house.

What a great way to usher in the New Year!

Whatever 2013 holds, I know that God will work all things out for my good because I trust in Him.  (Romans 8:28)   He will help me through the challenges.  He will carry me when I just can’t seem to go on.   His mercies and grace are new every morning.  There are many wonderful blessings in store for me.   He holds me in the palm of His hand and I am safe.    All of these things are for you also if you give Him your life.  Even as we sang last night “yes Lord, I will ride with you………..yes, Lord.  Yes, Lord.”

I look forward to the future but I will live in each moment for today is the day the Lord has made.  (Psalm 118:24)  I hope that you will rejoice with me and be glad.

til next time

January 1, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Rejoicing with you and praising Him for the testimony He has given you.
    No matter what this year brings, we have absolute confidence that God is not only with us but that He will undertake for us and sustain us.
    What an incredibly amazing God!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | January 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Happy New Year Angela!!! Yes indeed — what an incredibly amazing God!!!!

      Comment by Gloria | January 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

