Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

celebrate

I wrote about reminders awhile back  (click here to read it.)

every dayI found a couple more reminders at Hobby Lobby.  In our fast paced life style this one was a great reminder.

Now this doesn’t mean I don’t have a good life.  In  fact, just the opposite is true.  I have a great life – a full life.

Yet, I can get so focused on others that I forget to take time  for me.  While helping others does indeed make me happy, it is also important that I take time out for me too.

The Bible says to “love your neighbor as yourself” (Matthew 22:39).

My life is full.  I am surrounded with all sorts of blessings from God.   However, I can find myself so immersed in whatever I am doing that I forget to truly enjoy it.

Laziness is not now, nor has ever been, a trait of mine.   In fact, I often think that my mother set the bar too high.  She didn’t sit down to rest until all the work was done.  Well, in my occupation the work is never done so I have had a hard time learning to find that rest.  God is calling me daily to a life of balance.  It begins with changing my focus.  It is not about accomplishing the mission but enjoying the process.

Here is my other Hobby Lobby purchase.

love lifeWhen I saw this, it just leaped out at me.  First of all, this saying calls for action.  Secondly, its design was made for our bedroom.  That is our comforter that it is laying on.   What a perfect match.

As a Christian there is no better life.  Yet I see Christians that are practically miserable.     Lack of trust or disobedience are among the top things that can cause a Christian to be miserable.  How that must grieve the Father’s heart.    Jesus came that we would have life and life abundantly.  (John 10:10)

When I reflect on my life, I am in awe of the way God reveals Himself to me.  So often it is in the every day miracles.   His fingerprints are all around me.   How sad when I allow myself to be too busy to notice.

Sometimes I wonder if my zeal for life is evident.   I can get so caught up in the task at hand that I am clearly in the zone.   My daily list of things to get done before going to bed can set me in a driven state that can become void of enjoyment if I am not careful.

I love my life.  I love the way God orchestrates little things and big things.  I join my voice with Matthew West’s in singing “I don’t want to go through the motions.”  Life is meant to be enjoyed!

til next time

February 20, 2013 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I agree. My life was non-stop with just a few hours, sometimes as little as three, spent in sleep. Quite often, when so involved in national children’s ministry, I worked right through the night and continued all the next day. I loved every minute of it.

    Now, as I near turning 77 (wow! that is hard to believe!) I find I can really appreciate and enjoy a time of relaxation, maybe watching an old movie (no bad language or anything offensive in the old movies) or doing a jigsaw or cryptic crosswords.

    I look forward to the soon-coming day when I will enter my eternal home, but while I am here, I will continue to praise God for every second and whatever it contains, and trust Him to continue to undertake in all circumstances.

    We serve an incredibly amazing God who loves us with an everlasting love and desires the very best for us.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | February 25, 2013 | Reply

    • Amen Angela!!

      Comment by Gloria | February 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

