Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

golden rule played out in my life

Some people have a funny way of encouraging.  In fact it isn’t encouragement at all but sarcasm disguised as lightheartedness.  I don’t know about you but when I am struggling  – what I need is a listening ear or an encouraging word or the assurance  that the person has my back. 

You are probably familiar with the saying walk a mile in my shoes.   It is meant to remind us that we do not see all that is going on.  Instead of offering judgment or ridicule — give grace – offer encouragement –  recognize that each person is dealing with some sort of challenge.  The Christian life is filled with opportunities for growth.  Just because it is not our battle does not mean that it is not a battle.    

To us, it may look like no big deal but that is because of our perception of what the situation is.  Sometimes  that little thing  is the final straw in a whole host of challenges that have been piling up in the individual’s life.    Instead of making a harsh or flippant remark, we are called to come along side and encourage.

Do unto other as you want them to do unto you.  This does not mean if you treat people well that  they will in turn treat you well.  It doesn’t say Do unto others and they will likewise do the same to you.  It is not  some formula. 

There are times in my life where this truth has become crystal clear.  Oh if only those people would treat me the way I treat them.  However, that is not what this scripture is talking about.  It is addressing how I treat others which is not the same as how I am treated. 

Let’s look at the placement of this scripture.  Jesus is talking in Luke 6:27-36 about how we are to deal with people.  He is talking about loving our enemies – doing good to those who mistreat us.  Then he states to ‘do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’    It is about our behavior.  It is about how we express God’s love to those who mistreat us. 

He goes on to say that loving those who love you in return does not set us apart.  It doesn’t take any effort on our part to love people who treat us great!  As Christians we are called to a higher standard.  We are called to love our enemies.

When we love those who are unloving, when we treat people decently even when they are mistreating us, when we extend mercy and do good – we are letting God’s love shine through us.

For me it is harder when the person who is mistreating me is a Christian.  David addresses this in  Psalm 41:9  “Even my close friend in whom I trusted,
Who ate my bread, Has lifted up his heel against me.”   Yet David speaks about his own integrity and that he will be in God’s presence forever. 

So, I will continue to love and treat people the way I want to be treated because that is what my Lord asks of me.  Is it easy?  Absolutely not.  But I refuse to fall into the trap of making excuses for unkind behavior.    I can and do  trust God to give me the strength and the ability to walk in His love.   

The Golden Rule is played out in my life when I walk in love not just to those who love me but to those who just may need my love the most.  

God cares about the lost and so should we.

til next time

June 6, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] my last blog I mentioned about ‘walking a mile in my shoes‘ and I guess that is why my admiration just keeps getting larger with each trip.  Before we […]

    Pingback by beach run 2013 « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | June 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

