Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

beach run 2013

Recently we returned from our Beach Run 2013 trip.  With each trip my admiration grows for those who travel across the country by motorcycle.

Our trip  was amazing.  Our destination this time was Virginia Beach, Atlantic Beach and Myrtle Beach, but it isn’t just about the destination.  It is about the journey.

It rained going through the mountains heading to the coast.  Sunshine through the mountains on the way back.

taking a break - lots of rain in the mountains

taking a break – lots of rain in the mountains

on the return trip we even had a few tunnels - this one was also a huge curve

 return trip we  had sunshine and a few tunnels – this one had a surprise curve inside

Our older cycle with Iowa plates brought about  some interesting conversations.  One guy’s comment still makes me chuckle.  “You aren’t from Iowa are you?”    Or the comment, “How old is that bike?”

In my last blog I mentioned about ‘walking a mile in my shoes‘ and I guess that is why my admiration just keeps getting larger with each trip.  Before we took our first long trip up the North Shore in MN, my thoughts were about how cool it would be and just how much fun it was going to be.  It was all of that, but it was so much more.

With each trip I am getting an education.  I am finding out what I am made of.  Just when I think that I have a great endurance – the winds of OK and TX challenge that.  When I think that a little rain just makes it that much more of an adventure, I come through a torrential  downpour with my contact in my eye but not where it belonged.   I  now have a full face shield.

When we have topped over 450 miles in a day, I then talk with someone who puts in over 500 miles day after day.  Yes, my admiration grows.

My faith also grows.  Leaving the Grand Canyon last year, driving through barren land for miles with nothing – temperatures rising above 100 causing the heat to bounce off the black surface — yes my dependence on God and my trust in Him grew.  (To read about that trip – click here)    The bike just sailed through that barren land and purred through the mountains.

Miles and miles with nothing but the sound of the wind, the purr of the engine, the traffic sounds, an occasional conversation with Curt (we do not have mics) — gives me lots of time to think, pray and sing.

I have come to the conclusion that boredom must be a mind-set because not once have I been bored while  sitting very still on the back of the bike.  My son (Andrew) says that boredom is a symptom of the unmotivated.  Hmmm.

view outside our window at Virginia beach

view outside our window at Virginia beach

3 of the 5 nights at the beaches we had an ocean view -- 2 of those mornings I got up early enough for the sunrise - Gorgeous

3 of the 5 nights at the beaches we had an ocean view — 2 of those mornings I got up early enough for the sunrise – Gorgeous

 

got to enjoy the moon the first night at the ocean

the moon combined with the sound of the ocean – incredible

 

Myrtle beach -God blessed us with an empty lot right next door to our  ocean front view condo - the price was shockingly low - Thanks God!

Myrtle beach – God blessed us with an empty lot right next door to where we were staying.        Thanks God!

 

soaked it all in -- 3 oceans - each one a little bit different but the same ocean.

soaked it all in — 3 oceans – each one a little bit different but still the same ocean.

I have learned much about myself, about the man I married and about the God I serve (with all my heart) while riding on the back of our motorcycle.

To sum it up I have learned that I am a lot tougher than  I think and when it comes to ministry –  there are people, no matter how much they love me, who  still won’t understand the price that is paid.   In thinking about this I realize that God thinks outside the box 🙂 and brings along encouragement in surprising ways.

I have learned that the man I married is so much more than the guy I fell in love with all those years ago.  We are in this life together.  We are a priority to each other.

While riding the motorcycle I have used that time to cultivate  my awareness of the presence of God.  I see Him and His fingerprints all around me.  God’s goodness, His love for me, and His way of working all things out — I grow more and more in AWE of who He is.

til next time

June 8, 2013 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, ministry, motorcycle | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

