Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

gave my notice

Do you hear that?   I do.  The wind is shifting.  There is a change in the air.

Imagine with me that it is a hot sunny day.  The temperature is rising.  When out of  what appears to be nowhere – comes a cool breeze.  I can’t help but take a deep breath and soak it all in.

A change is in the air for my husband and I.  While I love the smell of the air right after it rains, I am not talking about a coming storm or even about a storm at all.

For much of the last 27  years I have been bi-vocational.  Along with being a wife and mother I found myself  needing to juggle between  church and employment outside the church.  Multitasking has become second nature to me.

Being bi-vocational is challenging.  I do believe that God has used my employment to shine His light on those I work with and come in contact with.  It has been an extension of my ministry.  It has had a huge price tag on it.  Yet God’s grace pours into all avenues of my life.

It has been 11 years since I had a break from outside employment.  There have been times when I just didn’t think I could do one more thing, work one more day, or pick up one more thing that someone dropped.    Yet each time that came around God was strong in my weakness.

That said my heart’s desire is to be able to pour myself into ministry with no restraints.  While my current boss is a Christian and has no problem with me taking a moment to encourage a patient, I am still on his dime.

This past weekend things just came together.  The time is now.  Change is now.  On Monday I just happened to be scheduled to go to our satellite office with the boss.  It was on that drive that I gave him my resignation.

my office at church is not quite so spacious but I am looking forward to spending lots of time there

saying good bye to this office –my office at church is not quite so spacious but I am looking forward to spending lots of time there

It knew it would be hard, and it was.   It has been seven years that I have worked there.   I love my job.   I love my office.  I would have liked to spend more time in my office, but it is what it is.  I will miss it, especially the  great people who I work with.

To say that I am looking forward to this is an understatement.  To say that I am surprised that it is happening at this time in our lives would be accurate.  I had resigned myself to at least one more year.

I actually typed up my resignation last November.  At that time it was out of  desperation.  We had been short-staffed for months.  I longed for the moment God would say yes and I could hand it in.  Yet the release to hand it in never came.   What did happen was God used that to do a deeper work within me.

This time there was no desperation.  I had to rewrite my resignation.  It was just time.  Isn’t that so like God?

When God closes a door, He opens a window.  Sometimes we must wait for that window.   Eleven years later the ‘window’  opens and the breeze blows in bringing with it change.

I love my daily time with God in His Word but I am so looking forward to having time once again to study!

Thy Word have I hid in my heart

Thy Word have I hid in my heart

My  job at the clinic is complex.  There are many facets to it.  Knowing it will take time to train someone, I gave Doc til the end of July.    I just realized that this is one week for every week I have worked there.    How cool is that?

Financially it is a step of faith.  Our faith over rides our fear!

Six weeks left!!

til next time

June 14, 2013 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. When we know it is God’s timing and we obey His prompting, walking in His will, we may encounter difficulties, but we KNOW that He will undertake in all things, for His glory and honour.
    His way is perfect, and He makes our way perfect. Psalm 18:30,32

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] click here to read about my resignation […]

    Pingback by faith vs fear « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | June 19, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] click here to read  ‘Gave my notice’ […]

    Pingback by a new chapter « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | July 31, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

