Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

faith vs fear

how do you see the glass?It has been said that life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you think about and handle what happens to you.  When problems arise it is how you think about them that will determine if you stay optimistic or enter the pessimistic realm.

Do you tend to see the glass half full or half empty?  It is all about where your thoughts go.  Do you focus on the good or the not so good?  The glass of water is just that – a glass of water.

When fear comes knocking at your door, will you let your mind run with it?

Will you fight the urge to give in to fear?

Fear cripples our faith.  On the other hand, faith makes fear surrender.  As the old song says “Let faith arise!  Let your enemies be scattered!!”

Yesterday fear tried to gripe me.  I started to think about the “what ifs” connected with leaving my job at the clinic.  That paycheck is a constant in our budget.  If the funds were down at the church, we knew that we had my check to fill in the gaps.  After all, that is why, 11 years ago,  I went back to work outside the church.

click here to read about my resignation

Each time that fear would I arise, I would talk with God.  I love how things just ‘happen’ in our lives.    Our church is on a 3 day fast (which ends today) and the clarity that comes with denying food made this battle with fear easier.    That said it still wasn’t a walk in the park.

I am sure the enemy planned to use this attack to not only rattle me but cause me to break my fast.  It was a temptation.  Ah, but temptation is overcome by the help of the Holy Spirit with the  cooperation of our will.   My desire is to be obedient to the One who loves me most –Jesus.

Last night I had Curt pray with me one more time.  Fear wasn’t giving up the fight of trying to gain control of my thoughts.

Fear is no match for faith and prayer!  Thank you God for a wonderful night of sleep.

This morning God spoke thru His Word and confirmed again what He is calling me to do.    I am reading in Acts right now.  Today’s reading just ‘happen’ to be chapters 5-7.  In chapter 6:3 it says, “…we will turn this responsibility over to them and give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the Word.”

Some people ask me about the importance of daily devotions.   God uses His Word to address things that we are facing or will face that day.   If we aren’t in His Word we are not as equipped as we could be.  I want a fresh filling of God’s Word each day.

til next time

June 19, 2013 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, ministry, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I completely agree. I used to be one of those that would dwell on the bad stuff. It caused me so much stress. Now, I am happy to say I have been able to change that around. I am much happier and much more peaceful. Great article 🙂

    Comment by Stuff My Brain Thinks | June 19, 2013 | Reply

    • thanks! And I am so glad that you are more peaceful and happy. How we think truly does affect our peace and joy.

      Comment by Gloria | June 23, 2013 | Reply

  2. An attack from satan has its good points. Firstly, it proves that we are a problem to him. He only bothers to attack us if we are honouring Jesus and making his work more difficult. Secondly, it strengthens our faith, because when we submit to God and resist his attacks, we see a defeated satan and know his attacks will always fail when we stand against him in the Name of Jesus. Thirdly, it causes us to give wholehearted praise to our amazing God.

    Fear is faith in satan;
    Faith is fearing God.
    Ever see it that way?
    Does look rather odd.

    Fear says “God may fail me”
    Faith knows He keeps His Word.
    Hitherto the Lord has helped me:
    Doubting now would be absurd!

    Dismiss your doubts and feelings,
    “Stand still” and see it through.
    The God who fed Elijah
    Will do the same for you.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | June 22, 2013 | Reply

    • thanks Angela! Good word!!

      Comment by Gloria | June 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

