Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a new chapter

Many people asked me if I planned to have my last day of work coincide with my birthday?   The answer to that is no.   However, I do think it was planned.

waiting for me when I got home from my last day as a bi-vocational minister!

to celebrate  the start of a new season!!

It was the middle of June when I gave my notice.  Curt and I had decided that I could work through July.  If we had looked at a calendar I am sure we would have picked Thursday  the 25th as my last day.

click here to read  ‘Gave my notice’

Yet I do think that it was planned.  God knew what I didn’t know.  He knew just how special it would be to celebrate my release from bi-vocational ministry on my birthday.  Since  I do not work  Wednesdays at the clinic, Tuesday was my last work day in July.  What a great birthday present.

Bi-vocational has defined me for most of my adult life.   It comes with a  price tag that many people cannot comprehend.  Yet that very price tag has caused me to clearly see how great  my dependence on God is.   I have countless examples of God’s grace and strength being poured into my life.   When I just didn’t think I could do one more thing and yet one more thing was required, I would witness God’s power rise up within me.    When exhaustion threatened to take over, God would come through with amazing energy to meet the need.  He truly is more than enough.

I have quit jobs in the past but not felt the release from bi-vocational ministry.  This time it is different.  I don’t know how this will play out.  No one knows the future.  What I do know is that God has released me and I am ready.

Yet even this new adventure comes with a price tag.    It is a huge step of faith for both Curt and I as we say good-bye to my paycheck.  However, our provider is and always has been God.   It is true that where God guides, He provides.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

No matter what chapter we find ourselves in, God is still the author and finisher of our faith.  He has great things in store for us as we commit to and follow Him.

When we are weak, His grace is sufficient.   (2 Corinthians 12:9)

When we are afraid, we can trust in Him. (Psalm 56:3)

When we don’t understand, we have hope.   (Proverbs 3:5-6, Psalm 71:14)

When we are anxious, we can pray and rest in God’s peace.  (Philippians 4:6-7)

Whatever stage you find yourself in, my prayer is that you will ‘grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.’  (2 Peter 3:18)

til next time

July 31, 2013 - Posted by | ministry, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Please visit my Blog You may like it http://jesuschristarmy.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/does-god-exist/

    Comment by jesuschristarmy | July 31, 2013 | Reply

  2. It will require some adjustments, but God will take care of us.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | August 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] It has been almost five months since I quit my job at the clinic to devote more time to study, ministry and home.    I had taken a second job  so that money or lack of money wouldn’t be an issue.  Seeing a need and then being able to help was and is important to me.  If the church had a bad month financially, we had my income coming in.  Yes it took courage to act on what God was saying when He clearly released me from bi-vocational ministry.        (for more on that click here) […]

    Pingback by a sign and a bracelet « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | December 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

