Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

ordinary things

If I asked  how are you, what would your answer be?

Busy?  Stressed?  Overwhelmed?  Bored?

What are the demands on your life?

Do you find that you are in a constant state of ‘rush’?

Does it seem that one task is not even close to being done when the next task is demanding attention?

Sometimes life meets us coming and going.  Sometimes I eat on the run.  Other times I find myself with more to do and night has come.

Awhile back I was talking with a friend about the importance of answering the call to  “Come away” and how easy it can be to ignore that call or put off that call.  Who has time for that anyway?

Mark 6:31 (NASB) “And He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a secluded place and rest a while.” (For there were many people coming and going, and they did not even have time to eat.)

In our Impact class we were talking  about using ordinary tasks to incorporate more time in prayer.   Driving to work is a wonderful opportunity to talk with God about the day, the issues you are facing, and about the people you will come in contact with that day.  God is already on the scene but we must learn to cultivate an awareness of His presence.

A long time ago I started working in my kitchen with Joyce Meyer.  It seemed that  there just never was enough time/energy to cook and clean up.   My attitude reflected this.  What was I to do?  Continue to struggle?

LIghtbulb!!

I receive a new CD every month from Joyce.   I have numerous CD sets of hers that someday I was going to take time to listen to,  so I decided to pop one in.  Wa La,  the kitchen is no longer an issue.  Thus Joyce Meyer and I do dishes together.  Taking an ordinary thing but making it extraordinary.  Win win!!

Another ordinary task that has become a moment of solitude in my day is the restroom.   Might sound kind of strange to you, until you try it.  When I need a moment to remind myself that God is greater and He is already working on whatever it is I am facing, I close the door, take a breath, and connect with Him.   What a difference a couple of minutes makes.

Going for walks is another ordinary task that can easily become a prayer walk.  It is amazing how your neighborhood changes when you begin to pray for your neighbors.

Yet while all of these things are helpful, the call to me to “come away to a secluded place” was greater than just the ordinary places.     Maybe that will mean getting up a half hour earlier.  It could mean turning off the tv and going to a quiet place instead.

I thought when I  was no longer bi-vocational that time would just present itself.  After all, I was not going to fill up my calendar.  Dropping into bed at night dog tired would be a thing of the past.   The plan was to take the first two weeks to regroup and adjust.

The first week was horrible.  I actually found myself wishing I was working.   The down time I had so desperately looked forward to was not going as planned.  Life was still coming at me fast.

It was then that the call came in loud and clear.  “Come away with me to a  quiet place.”

And I did!

What ordinary things do you turn into extraordinary?

When was the last time you went away to a quiet place?

til next time

August 18, 2013 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

