Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a lifetime

Christians  are called to follow Christ.   John (3:30) tells us that  He must increase but I must decrease.  This is a process.  Acknowledging Jesus as Lord and Savior takes but a moment.    Living for Him takes a lifetime.

Are you growing closer, becoming stagnant, or moving away from God?

A few years back I asked a dear friend to pray with me that I would crucify my flesh and live out Galatians 5 in all areas of my life.

Here are a few verses but the whole chapter is powerful.

Galatians 5:13  ‘For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

16  “But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh.”

24-26 “Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.”

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

I knew it wouldn’t be a cake walk but how hard could it be?  I was way past the point of just wanting God to rubber stamp an ‘ok’ on my plans.   My love for God spilled out in all areas of my life.   Sacrifices and being obedient to what God wanted was nothing new to me.  I already stood on the truth that God will make a way and His ways are so much better than mine.

Yet I knew that there was growth that needed to take place in my life.   I knew there was more that God wanted to do in me and being accountable to my friend gave me the encouragement I needed to look closer at my life.

Crucifying the flesh is an ongoing process in the life of a Christian.  The  old nature tries to resurrect itself any chance it gets.

God’s grace gives me (and you) the power to change.   It is not about earning our salvation but living out our salvation.

To crucify my flesh means learning how to respond differently,  keeping my eyes on Jesus and not the circumstances I find myself in, refusing to be offended (Psalm 119:165) and learning how to think with the mind of Christ.  (1 Corinthians 2:16)   It is about controlling my feelings and not letting feelings control me.  It is about being mindful of my attitude and actions – living with purpose and on purpose.  These are all areas that just when I think I have mastered one – a new level appears.  Crucifying the flesh is like peeling off the layers of an onion.

I am grateful for God’s loving forgiveness  when I stumble and try to do something my way.   God’s love is greater than my blunders and He restores my soul.  I try to respond not react to things but sometimes……  Today is a new day.  When I place my head on my pillow tonight this is my prayer.

Psalm 17:3 You have tested my heart;
You have visited me in the night;
You have tried me and have found nothing;
I have purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.

For more on this topic – click here for a powerful message on Walk or Run in the Spirit

til next time

I have included the words to Carmen’s song Hunger for Holiness in the comments section.   I believe that all Christians have a hunger in them for holiness but sometimes make the mistake of filling that hunger with other things.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please note that any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com and not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

September 10, 2013 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hunger for Holiness by Carmen
    There’s a silent war that’s raging deep within me.  My lower nature fights to dominate.  My spirit man is poised and locked in battle with the carnal side of me I’ve grown to hate. 

    The trumpet of my prayers play towards heaven.  A voice of desperation in my cry.  Lord, strengthen me that I might not yield myself to sin, but keep Your righteous banner lifted high.

    Lord, I hunger for holiness and I thirst for the righteousness that’s Yours.  That my mind would be cleansed and my spirit renewed and this temple that You dwell in would be pure.  Yes, Lord  I hunger and I thirst – my soul says yes.

    The tempter stalks about me as a lion  – searching for the slightest scent of blood.  For when the skin of my resistance is broken, he moves in swiftly to deepen the cut. 

    Oh, Lord of creation hear Your servant.  You understand the weaknesses of men.  I’m counting myself crucified with Jesus.  Alive to Christ and dead indeed to sin.

    Do I hunger for holiness?  yes!  

    Do I thirst for righteousness?  yes!

    Do I want to do Your will?  yes!

    Yes Lord, I am saying yes Lord!

    Comment by Gloria | September 10, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thanks for adding the words of Carmen’s song. I haven’t heard him for years but I always appreciated his lyrics.

    The battle continues moment by moment, but praise God that whenever we are submitted to Him, the devil is a defeated foe. Our gracious God has supplied ALL we need to live victoriously for Him and we only have ourselves to blame when we don’t use what He has provided. We are ‘more than conquerors’ in Christ – but only as we submit to Him and are strengthened and enabled by Him.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | September 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

