Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

life is like a puzzle

Keeping things in perspective is helpful if you want to enjoy the day.  Sometimes I allow a problem to morph into something bigger than it really is and is that ever a joy stealer.  Even if the problem is huge, how I look at it makes the difference.

My husband and I recently put together a puzzle.  I wanted to use the puzzle as an illustration for a speaking engagement.  It had been years since we put a puzzle together.   I had forgotten how relaxing it was.  Simple pleasures.

Life is like a puzzle.

puzzle piecesSometimes my life looks more like this.  The pieces of my life are all jumbled and going in every direction.  Nothing seems to fit.

Perspective!  What is truly important?   What can I trim off my list of things to do?  Years from now will this matter? What is my motive behind this?  Is the energy needed worth the outcome?  And the key question — Do I feel this is a God-thing?  God will give me the strength to do those things He calls me to do.

It can be so easy to find myself doing things that other people have suggested or implied that I should do.    However, one of the most freeing things I have learned is that when someone has a great idea – encourage them to go for it.  Sadly too many people will come up with great ideas but want me (or someone else)  to do them.

Sweeping away many of the puzzle pieces, I am left with what is truly important.  I am a wife, mother, mother-in-law, sister, I have an aging parent, finances, health issues, friends, and a job. (I am extremely grateful to be down to one job and able to focus on my calling.)   Yet, these things can easily take a back seat to things that are less important if I am not mindful.

How do these pieces fit together?

In our lives, things may happen that make no sense to us.  We look at it and haven’t a clue how the pieces will come together.

Yet even with this many pieces – what holds them all together?  What is at the center?  How do I walk in peace and love?

God is the center of my life

My heart belongs to God! He connect the pieces.

But God!  But God knows.  He holds all things together.  (Colossians 1:17)  He is an ever-present help in time of trouble.  (Psalm 46:1)

finished picture

God takes the pieces of my life (and yours) and fits them together forming a beautiful picture.  He promises to work all things out for our good.  (Romans 8:28)  Yes even those “can’t possibly see any good in”, painful obstacles.   He is God and He knows more about each situation than we know.  He is able to give us beauty for ashes. (Isaiah 61:3)

Sometimes all we see are the jumbled up pieces but God see the whole picture. We can trust Him with the pieces of our lives.   He is good!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please note that any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com and not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

December 12, 2013 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, Pastor's wife, relationships | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Those are all good questions. Questions I try to ask myself as well. I try to ask myself the most, “Will God be glorified in me doing this?” Just like life is a puzzle, it is also a balancing challenge. Beautiful puzzle by the way!

    Comment by amazing1987 | December 12, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you. And that is a great question. It reminds me of an old chorus that I love. “In my life, Lord, be glorified today!”

      Comment by Gloria | December 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] (for Life is like a puzzle click here) […]

    Pingback by but God « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | December 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

