Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

learning is a life long process

“Come to me and rest.  I am all around you, to bless and restore.  Breathe Me in with each breath.  The way just ahead of you is very steep.  Slow down and cling tightly to My hand.  I am teaching you a difficult lesson, learned only by hardship.”              Jesus Calling  by Sarah Young

Not exactly what I wanted to read this morning.

She goes on to say:

“Lift up empty hands of faith to receive My precious Presence.  Light, Life, Joy, and Peace flow freely through this gift.  When your focus turns away from Me, you grasp for other things.  You drop the glowing gift of My presence as you reach for lifeless ashes.  Return to Me; regain My Presence.”

On January 24th I was at my mother’s bedside holding her hand as she took her last breath.  It is a precious story that I will share at a later time.   I am glad that  I was there, but nothing in life has been harder.  Twice she stopped breathing and I squeezed her hand and yelled for her.  After the second time, I told her, “Oh momma, I am so sorry.  You can go.  You don’t have to stay.   It is okay.”  Maybe she took 4 or 5 more breaths after that.

A couple of days ago a friend wrote this on a facebook status that I shared. 

“I wouldn’t be surprised if there isn’t a whole host of other things connected to the grief you might have to face down, acknowledge and deal with in whatever manner God may lead you toward.”

God can and does speak through people.  He was certainly speaking through my friend to me.  It was time to face down, acknowledge and deal with some things that I had been avoiding in hopes that I had somehow assessed the situation inaccurately.

It has been a roller coaster of events since my mother’s fall in August.

Some where along the way I forgot to guard my heart.  (Proverbs 4:23)  How was that possible when I talk with people all the time about guarding your heart?  How could I forget to practice it myself?  As a Pastor/Pastor’s wife I know how the enemy uses whatever he can to bring discouragement and sadness.

What does it mean to guard your heart?  Among other things, it means to hold loosely the things (friendships – possessions) you have in this life.  Any time that you hold on too tightly you open a door that the enemy will gladly attempt to enter.

Guarding my heart also means to keep my focus on Jesus.  When dealing with car trouble  or something breaks,  when someone ‘drops the ball’,  when sickness comes,  when loneliness seems to take my breath away,  when facing my mother’s death, when finances aren’t what I expected, no matter what happens – keep my focus on Jesus.

Where is your focus?

Keep your focus on Jesus.  (Hebrews 12:1-2)

After all, whatever happens, He is right there.  He is an ever-present help in trouble. (Proverbs 46:1)  He will make a way where there seems to be no way. (Proverbs 3:6, Isaiah 43:19)   He will never leave you.  (Hebrews 13:5)

“Face down, acknowledge and deal with.”  Instead of running from the pain — embrace it,  learn from it and move forward.   “In acceptance lieth peace.”  Hannah Whitall Smith

Yes, God had my attention.

My friend went on to say:

“Don’t let the devil convince you that the world was just put on your shoulders. You’ve got this and God will help you with it.”

Sometimes we aren’t even aware of the weight that is pressing down on us.  God sees and He is faithful to use people to speak into our lives the truth that will keep us from bondage.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” Proverbs 4:23

 

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please note that any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com and not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

February 6, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, relationships, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

