Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

It is what it is

I just finished the book “Redeemed”  by Kerry Clarensau.  At one point she talks about trusting God’s love enough to walk through a difficult place looking for a way to share God’s love.

This got me thinking about how I handle suffering/trouble/pain/trials.

Long ago I read  a book about pain.  One line still lives in my thoughts.

Pain is inevitable, misery is not.

Another quote that is especially meaningful to me is one by Hannah Whitall Smith.

In acceptance lieth peace. 

I looked up trouble in the NIV and found 172 references.    Some trouble we bring on ourselves by making poor choices, sometimes choices others make affect us, and some pain comes for reasons we may not know this side of heaven.

John 16:33 (NIV)“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

it is what it is

This catch phrase has been a handy reminder for me.  God is in control and He is at work.  I can accept whatever suffering comes my way knowing that I don’t face it alone.   Also living in the truth is vital to walking a life of victory.  It is truth that sets us free. (John 8:32)

Unrealistic expectations can bring frustration and discouragement.  When I recognize that it is what it is and that it didn’t take God by surprise, I can face it with confidence knowing that God is in control.

Here are some steps that I have found helpful in dealing with pain.

“Anyone that intends to come with Me has to be lead. You’re not in the drivers seat-I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to find yourself, your true self. ” Luke 9:23-25 MSG

Submit/ yield  to God.  I once again declare my allegiance to the King of Kings.  I remind myself that I am nothing without Him and with Him I can do whatever I need to do in this situation. Proverbs 3:6 (NIV) “in all your ways submit to Him,   and He will make your paths straight.

Stop and face it—   Denial is not our friend.   So often we want to run or try to escape the pain.

“Everything you avoid or run away from has power over you, but everything you press through, in Christ, you can conquer!”  Joyce Meyer

Trust God –  Psalm 56:3 (NIV)When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.”  Guard against worry.  Worry is the opposite of trust.

Continue to do good   – Psalm 37:3a (NIV) Trust in the Lord and do good...

In Your grace, which is sufficient for me, I am going forward.  (2 Corinthians 12:9)  In my weakness You, O Lord, are strong.  This too shall pass and when I am on the other side of this trial, may I be more like Your Son.  To God be the glory!!

 

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please note that any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com and not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

February 26, 2014 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Whatever we may face, God’s grace is sufficient for us. He will give us the wisdom and the strength that we need.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

