Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

spring is playing hide and seek

Would spring ever get here?  We have lived in Iowa for over 20 years and this seems like the longest wait we have had for spring to arrive.  As of Friday, I still had my electric blanket on the bed.

Then Saturday arrived.  It finally felt like spring.  Windows opened, laundry on the line, and yard work being done was a good indication that, for at least that day, Spring was here.   My vegetable garden is ready to be planted.  All but one of my flower gardens are cleaned out.  Our  Christmas flag is put away and a Spring one is in its place.  I know, pathetic but I do love my Christmas snowman flag.   Sadly, the forecast has the “s” word in it for tomorrow.

After a fabulous day of weeding, trimming, and cleaning up the dead stuff from winter it was time to usher spring in with a trip to the Ballet.

P1070739

Getting all dressed up was half the fun.  I then remembered that I had the perfect clutch to carry.  It was my mom’s.  I don’t know as she ever used it.  It still had the stuffing inside and the tag was in the little pocket.  She gave it to me a long time ago.   I guess there is something about her no longer being here that makes me want to use it.  There is just something about getting all dressed up and carrying a little purse that reminds me of that little girl who would play dress up and dream of one day her knight in shining armor picking her up to take her to the ball.  (My husband clearly played his part well.)ballet

“Spring is in the Air” was the name of the production.  How fitting to attend it on such a gorgeous day.

Such beauty.

Such grace.

Such gentle movement.

The orchestra was wonderful.  It practically grabbed you and carried you with each note.  I enjoyed that almost as much as the actual Ballet.

Today it pretty much rained all day.   Spring is playing a mean game of hide and seek.  Tonight it could get cold again with a chance of snow.  Ah, but I am grateful for that gorgeous day to get yard work done.  Weeds and debris  will no longer taunt me when I walk out the door.  The next nice day my patio is ready for me to enjoy.

Thanks God for each new day!  Psalm 118:24   “This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.”

til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

April 13, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Just the opposite here. We are half way through autumn but I’m still waiting for some cooler weather. One of the better things of spending three months in hospital was being in air conditioning through the hottest weather, so I shouldn’t complain, but I’m longing for some cool relief now.
    As for the garden . . . four months of no attention / a hot summer /no watering . . . hmmmm . . . and it will be a long time before I’m able to do anything about it.

    Enjoy your spring!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Angela I am so glad that you are on the road to recovery. Praise God! It is good to have you back online 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | April 14, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

