Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

sweetly broken

It has been almost nine months since I quit my job at the clinic.  Nine months, hmmm, makes me think of my pregnancy.  There are some similarities.

With both my pregnancy and quitting my second job I didn’t really know what to expect.  It was clearly uncharted territory.  My hormones were all over the place as a pregnant women.  Now as a Peri-menopausal woman who needed to find a new ‘normal’, my emotions are affected.

Another similarity  was the uncomfortable feeling of change.  While change can be exciting, there is something comforting about the same old, same old.  Embarking on this new adventure means embracing change and lots of it.   One huge change during my pregnancy was morning sickness.  It was a common challenge all throughout my pregnancy.  While I haven’t gotten sick, there have certainly been an abundance of challenging issues to deal with the last nine months.

One of the best similarities is the love of what is going on inside me.  Of course being pregnant for me meant two beautiful babies were developing.  Before they were ever born I was already absolutely in love with them.  This time around God is  working on and developing me.   My love for God and others has reached a much deeper level than I would have imagined possible.  My heart is full!

Stretch marks come with pregnancy.  While it seems like for a long time I have been stretched in more ways than even I realized, these stretch marks are important.   With babies, stretch marks are a result of making room for what is developing.  Stretch marks in my life now make room for my faith to continue to grow.

My boys were born a month early.   Around eight months into this new adventure I realized that I was finally starting to get into what I would call a rhythm of grace.

Pregnancy and the birth of my sons meant many firsts.  Each one was exciting.  Some of them were a little scary.  Sometimes I didn’t feel that I was qualified, yet God made up for what I lacked.   Eight and half months into this new adventure there have been many firsts.  God is still making up for what I lack.  Sometimes it is a little scary but I am not afraid.

Resurrection Sunday is right around the corner.  Here is the song I am singing this year.  It pretty much sums up the last eight and half months.

“At the Cross You beckon me.   Draw me gently to my knees  and I am lost for words so lost in love.  I’m sweetly broken, wholly surrendered.”

 Matthew 10:38 (NASB)  And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me.”

til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

April 16, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. great comparisons,
    Isn’t it a great blessing that no matter what happens in life, or what circumstances we face, our God is enough. We know He will undertake and we will be blessed as we continue to trust Him

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | April 16, 2014 | Reply

    • amen! God is enough!

      Comment by Gloria | April 18, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

