Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

what do you do when you fall down?

When you fall down, what is the first thing you do?

  1. Look around and see if anyone saw you?
  2. Jump up and then look around to see if anyone saw you?
  3. Somehow try to make it look like you meant to do that?
  4. Verify that nothing is damaged and then slowly get up?
  5. Something entirely different?  please share
toe

swollen and bruised 😦

What about when you fall down and you know people have witnessed it?  Oh, if only there was a do over button or better yet a delete button.

Fall down??   I jump up, of course.

Yesterday I fell.   This is the second time in a week or so that I have taken a significant fall.  The first fall was a “belly flop”  trying to grab the dog.  I am not a fan of ‘belly flops’ when water is involved.  I am even less of a fan when there isn’t any water.

I was walking up the two steps to the platform (at church)  when some how, some way I found myself falling forward.  Not wanting a repeat of the previous fall, I managed to somehow land on my bottom.  (see blog on why that was not a good idea either )  I jump up as  quickly as I can, grab my keys and hobble to the foyer assuring everyone that I was fine.

Sometimes it surprises me as to what we are capable of doing when we do not want to embarrass ourselves further.

My knee and toe took the brunt of the fall, well, if you don’t count my pride.  As long as nothing touches my knee, it is fine.  My toe, that is another story.  Oy!

Although if I thought that I needed to slow down due to my earlier painful issue, this has really caused me to put the brakes on.

Are you aware that you really need your knees and bending of your toes to get out of a bath tub?  I found that out this morning.  I have to laugh because, seriously, this is beyond crazy.

Yet  IT IS WHAT IT IS!

What about when we fall down spiritually?   At one point today I found myself angry at a particular situation.  Being angry, in and of itself, is not a sin.  What I choose to do with that anger can lead to sin.  Do my words bring healing or destruction?  My actions become a reflection of what is in my heart.  Hopefully the love of Jesus is what spills out.

What do you do when you are angry?

  1. jump to a ‘logical’ conclusion?
  2. bring up history repeating itself?
  3. justify your anger and or any action you want to take?
  4. make a permanent decision in the midst of a temporary fit of anger?
  5. count to 10?
  6. stop, breathe, and refocus your thoughts

I have done each of the above.  The problem with the ‘logical’ conclusion is that generally you do not have all the facts.  The biggest problem with bringing up history is that Corinthians tells us love keeps no record of wrong.  (That does not mean that we become a door mat and boundaries are necessary- more on that in another blog)  Sadly, making a permanent decision in the midst of anger only makes a situation worse.  Counting to 10 is a really good thing, especially when you pray while you count.  The most helpful way for me to deal with anger is to stop, take a couple deep breaths, and refocus my thoughts.

The sooner I stop, breathe and refocus — the better!

Peace

Psalm 34:14  “Depart from evil and do good; Seek peace and pursue it.”

Romans 14:19  “So then we pursue the things which make for peace and the building up of one another.”
God will give to us wisdom to know what to do and the strength to do it.  We have a choice.  We do not have to stay in anger.
Remembering that God is still God, He is very much in control, and He offers peace that goes beyond our understanding as tools that help us to walk in peace even when anger tries to over shadow.  (Philippians 4:7)
til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May 12, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Firstly, sorry to hear of your physical falls. I trust that your injuries will heal completely and quickly, and that if there is an underlying reason for your falls, it will be found and rectified.

    As you know, I had a fall at Christmas, spent 3 months in hospital and still can’t walk, but can manage a hobble. It is not known if I’ll ever regain movement in my ankle beyond the 90 degrees.

    Thankfully, when it comes to a spiritual ‘fall’ the remedy is at hand. Repentance and confession bring instant relief, and while there might be ‘treatment’ (e.g. putting things right with others) complete healing and restoration follows.

    We serve an incredibly amazing God who loves us with an everlasting love and wants the very, very best for us.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | May 15, 2014 | Reply

    • saying a prayer for you this morning Angela.

      Comment by Gloria | May 16, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

