Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

the unexpected does not take God by surprise

Memorial day weekend life as our family knew it – changed.   For awhile I just kept hoping that I would wake up and realize it had just been a bad dream.  After a few days, I had to accept the fact that it wasn’t a dream.  Yes, it took me a few days.  Sometimes you just refuse to accept what is and denial becomes your friend.  However, denial is not a true friend.  Truth is.

You realize that whatever happens things will never be as they were.  You life has been altered.  The mountain now stands before you and pray as you might – God is not removing the mountain.   However, He is holding out His hand because  He is going with you over it.

Now I am firm believer that God can take something broken and make it better than it ever was.  He is in the restoration business.   He will turn even this most difficult thing around for good.  How?  I certainly cannot see it now.  It is with eyes of faith that you move up the mountain.  On the other side of the mountain, as  I (we) hold on to God, I (we) will be stronger, more like Christ, and my (our) faith will have taken a huge step of growth.

I am not  going into the details, but I know that as Christians, we all face situations that deeply change us.  Choices others make that impact us with great force.  How we choose to handle that says a lot about our faith.  Sometimes our faith is shaken but God’s love for us is right there and whether we ‘feel’ it or not, He is wrapping us in His arms of love.  He is cradling us and singing over us like a mother soothes her baby.  (Zeph 3:17)   He offers peace that goes beyond our understanding when we lay our requests at His feet with thanksgiving in our hearts for who He is.  (Phil 4:6-8 )

I have cried.

I have immersed myself in the Word.

I have prayed and prayed and prayed and continue to pray because each time I pray I am communicating with the One who sees all.  In prayer I remove my hands from the situation.  God reminds that He has a plan.  So I pray – asking Him for wisdom and strength.  Prayer reminds me that He is in control.

I have pleaded.

I have confronted.

I have cried.

This morning God’s Word leaped off the pages to me.  It is the reason for this blog.  I want to share some truths from His Word so that if you, like me, are in a life changing situation you may rejoice along with me that God’s Word is breath to us.  My daily bread, His very Word spoken to me.

 

Psalm 26:2-3 (MSG)

    Examine me, God, from head to foot,
    order your battery of tests.
Make sure I’m fit
    inside and out

    So I never lose
    sight of your love,
But keep in step with you,
    never missing a beat.

This is a great place to start.  Take a moment and ask God to show you if there is something in you that needs to change and then ask for His help to change.

Psalm 26:12 (NASB)

12 My foot stands on a level place;
In the congregations I shall bless the Lord.

Praise is a weapon of warfare that tears down walls.

Psalm 27:1-3 (TLB)

27 The Lord is my light and my salvation; he protects me from danger—whom shall I fear? When evil men come to destroy me, they will stumble and fall! Yes, though a mighty army marches against me, my heart shall know no fear! I am confident that God will save me.

Let your faith arise and your enemies will scatter.  (Psalm 68:1)

Psalm 27:4-5 (MSG)

I’m asking God for one thing,
    only one thing:
To live with him in his house
    my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate his beauty;
    I’ll study at his feet.

That’s the only quiet, secure place
    in a noisy world,
The perfect getaway,
    far from the buzz of traffic.

Take the time to be still and know that He is God.  (Psalm 46:10)

Psalm 27:11-14 (MSG)

11-12 Point me down your highway, God;
    direct me along a well-lighted street;
    show my enemies whose side you’re on.
Don’t throw me to the dogs,
    those liars who are out to get me,
    filling the air with their threats.

13-14 I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness
    in the exuberant earth.
Stay with God!
    Take heart. Don’t quit.
I’ll say it again:
    Stay with God.

When the waves come crashing in – hold fast to the life raft that is Jesus Christ.

Psalm 28:6-9 (TLB)

Oh, praise the Lord, for He has listened to my pleadings! He is my strength, my shield from every danger. I trusted in Him, and He helped me. Joy rises in my heart until I burst out in songs of praise to him. The Lord protects his people and gives victory to his anointed king.

Defend your people, Lord; defend and bless your chosen ones. Lead them like a shepherd and carry them forever in your arms.

The Lord is my shepherd…… (Psalm 23)  Yes, He will carry me (you) when the journey up the mountain seems to be more than I (you) can handle.  In my (your) weakness, He is strong. (2 Cor 12:10)Our God is not some far off God, but He is right there with us. (Heb 13:5)  God is an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalm 46:1)

Psalm 29:3-5 MSG)

God thunders across the waters,
Brilliant, his voice and his face, streaming brightness—
God, across the flood waters.

God’s thunder tympanic,
God’s thunder symphonic.

God’s thunder smashes cedars,
God topples the northern cedars.

Never forget that God is powerful.

Oh that we would remember that our God is powerful!  He is mighty to save!  He is victorious!   Nothing is more powerful than our God!  He is not limited by those things that limit us.  Nothing is impossible with our God! (Luke 1:37)

Psalm 30:11-12 (MSG)

11-12 You did it: you changed wild lament
    into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
    and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song;
    I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God,
    I can’t thank you enough.

There it is.  Whatever is going on in your life at this moment — the greatest weapon we have against the enemy is to praise God!!  To lift our voices and declare that He is worthy of praise in our very darkest moment.  Giving God thanks because His love is poured out on us, His peace is available, and He is working on our behalf.  He  dwells within us, and He is greater!!  (1John 4:4)

Philippians 4:6-9 (MSG)

6-7 Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

8-9 Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.

 

Well there you have it – what has been happening in my fishbowl.

til next time

 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

June 12, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you Gloria for hearing and giving God’s words that fit many scenarios of struggles we all go through daily. His word brings peace, joy, deliverance, and comfort.

    Comment by Jeri Newsum | June 12, 2014 | Reply

    • amen! Praying for you Jeri!

      Comment by Gloria | June 12, 2014 | Reply

  2. Gloria, thank you for that! My spirit has been encouraged. Love you guys!

    Comment by jbsisam | June 13, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks Jason!

      Comment by Gloria | June 13, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

