Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

playground of life

Do you play well with others?

If, as adults, the world is our playground, would you be found playing nicely with others or would you be up against the wall in a time out?

My blog is titled “Living life in a fishbowl” because life as I choose to do it means letting people see the real me.  I am open about my victories and my failures.

Recently we  decided to add fish to our 20 gallon fish tank.  We found a great deal at the pet store.  Six neon tetras for $4.00.  Jackpot!!   We had one neon at home that was very lonely because they prefer to swim in a group.

fishIn addition to the one lonely neon fish we  have two fairly large goldfish, a couple scissor fish, an albino catfish and a rather large sucker fish. As you can see by the picture, the goldfish rule the tank.  The sucker, who is bigger than both of these,  is hidden behind the plants.

Imagine my surprise when the next morning I could only locate one new neon fish swimming with the older neon.  Apparently our goldfish thought we had brought them supper.  Before long they had managed to consume the final two neons.

Bad…. bad…. fish.

They obviously don’t play well with others.

Back to the pet store.  The sales guy stood up for our goldfish and said that they really didn’t know what they were doing.  Like that makes it right?

 

new home

new home

Since there is no way to make our goldfish stay up against the wall of the tank for a time out, we purchased a new home for them.  It came with a rotating light  fixture.  I wonder if the changing of colors bothers them.  I happen to really like it and now I have a tank in the dining room.  Do you know that fish are supposed to be a huge stress releaser?

Come on over to my house — I’ll put the coffee pot on and we can watch the fish.  Oh, won’t it be serene?

6 more neons

6 more for $4.00

The fishbowl is one happy playground again.

This has made me think of the people I come in contact with.  Some of them really do not play well with others.  Some people are just plain mean.  I often wonder what has happened in their life that has left them so miserable.  Some women I know have aged prematurely due to bitterness and jealousy.  How very sad and how avoidable.  Do they consciously get up every morning and decide to be bitter  or do they just not realize there is another option?

Romans 12:17-19 (MSG)

Don’t hit back; discover beauty in everyone. If you’ve got it in you, get along with everybody. Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it.”

Some people  are narcissistic.  You know the kind, it is all about me, my, and  I.  Life seems to revolve around what they think, feel, or want.  How sad to see the world as only something to cater to your whims.  Can you truly be happy when the selfish choices you make causes pain to others?  I think not.

Galatians 2:20 (MSG)

“Indeed, I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not “mine,” but it is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I am not going to go back on that.”

Then there are the antagonistic people.  You say left and they must say right.  You say the sky is blue and they will argue that it is any color but blue.   What is it in their life that has caused them to seem to always be on the defense about something?   Insecurity?  Maybe?

Romans 15:13 (NASB)

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Then there are the people who insist on burning bridges.  If at all possible, I never burn a bridge.  I just may want to cross it again some day and I want to know that it is structurally sound.  Yet it seems that people throw away other people without even so much as a passing thought.  How sad.

1 John 4:7-8 (NASB)

 “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

I value friendship.  I value what other people bring into my life.   I am grateful for friends that stick beside me when the going gets bumpy.  I also value those friends that challenge me and cause me to rethink my views on extending grace and mercy to others.  But for the grace of God where would I be?

Hebrews 4:15-16 (NASB)

” For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin. Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

So what about it?  Do you play well with others?

til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

June 22, 2014 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great analogies Gloria. When I visit my son and his family in Townsville I spend much time watching their huge tropical fish tank. I especially like watching the living corals and anemones, and of course the interaction of the fish.

    Yes, watching fish is relaxing. Watching people, on the other hand, can be very frustrating. Watching myself can be very challenging! You’ve given me a bit to think about. Thanks.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | June 24, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Angela. Lately I have been doing much praying about how to effectively deal with and respond to people.

      Comment by Gloria | June 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

