Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

there’s gonna be a little rain

 

joy in rain

What do you do when the storm rages?  What do you do when the pouring rain of difficulties seem to linger and the sun refuses to come out from behind those gloomy clouds?

Back in high school I had a t-shirt that said “Life is 10% what happens and 90% how you deal with it.”   Even back then, God was instilling in me the importance of my attitude and that whatever was happening was minor compared to how I chose to deal with it.

As a kid, I loved the rain.  Puddles were the best!  I remember riding my bike through the puddles and squealing with such joy as my legs would get splashed.   With carefree abandonment I would jump in the puddles and twirl in the rain.  It was glorious.

Somewhere along the way my attitude changed.   I hated it when it rained.  My hair would respond with ginormous frizz,  rain made me cold, and the thought of getting splatter by puddles  was atrocious.

The rain hadn’t changed.  The way I respond to the rain had changed.

So it is in life, the carefree days of adolescents turn into the responsible days of adulthood. Yet, sometimes we forget that life is meant to be enjoyed.  After all, God created and then said “It is good!”

While we do have responsibilities, there still needs to be a balance between work and play.  Most importantly, even in our work we have the choice to enjoy life.  My daddy always told me that if I had to do something anyway I might as well do it with a smile.   Try it.  It does make a difference.

So one day, I was walking home from work (in the rain) and  I made the decision that I was going to splash.  Maybe it was a mid-life crisis or maybe I was tired but whatever the reason, I splashed. Then  I laughed.  If anyone was watching I am sure they laughed too or shook their head and said that woman is losing it.

Later, I managed to get my husband to go walking/singing/dancing in the rain.  Of course it was dark of night and we stayed away from street lights.  Although our son did take our picture when we returned home covered in water and mud.   What a night!!!

dancing

Later I happened upon this saying and had to have it.  “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”    Rain took on a whole new – or maybe it would be more accurate to say old- meaning.  I added the Dove chocolate saying that a young  guy from work gave me  because it reminded him of me.  “Some people walk in the rain, others just get wet.”  

What reminds others of  you?

Since then we have ridden through many rain storms on the motorcycle.  We joke that it really isn’t an adventure unless there is a little rain.

that is wetThought we were going to miss this downpour and then the road curved.  Thank God for safely getting us off the highway and through the puddles deep enough to come up to the tail pipe.   This was on our Grand Canyon trip.  We had it all — extreme heat, torrential rain, a blast of wind that just wouldn’t stop and a trip of a lifetime!

torrential rain

virginiaOur Beach run trip.  Going back home through the mountains we had sunshine and blue skies!

beach run

So it is with our lives.  A little rain must fall.  Sometimes it is a torrential downpour.  You have two main choices.  You can grumble, complain and be in a poor mood or you can put a smile on your face, remind yourself that God is still God and very much in control, and He is the reason you can dance in the rain.  Don’t let a little (or a lot of) rain stop you from making the most of each day.  There are no do overs.

Once again, I love to walk in the rain.  Better yet,  I love to dance in the rain.

Nehemiah 8:10 (KJV)  “….for the joy of the Lord is your strength”

Philippians 4:4-5 (MSG)  “Celebrate God all day, every day. I mean, revel in him! Make it as clear as you can to all you meet that you’re on their side, working with them and not against them. Help them see that the Master is about to arrive. He could show up any minute!”  (KJV – Rejoice in the Lord, always, again I say rejoice!)

Psalm 64:9 (MSG)” Everyone sees it. God’s work is the talk of the town.  Be glad, good people! Fly to God!  Good-hearted people, make praise your habit.”

As for the physical ‘rain’, it has been 14 weeks today.  I go back to the doctor Monday.  I am grateful that I have seen improvement over the last four weeks.  I am hopeful that surgery will be avoided.  In fact tomorrow I may be trying my first motorcycle ride this year.   I wonder if it will rain??

Psalm 30:5b (NASB)   “…Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning.”

John 14:27  (NASB) “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.”

Philippians 4:6-7(MSG) Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.”

til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

June 27, 2014 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. My attitude towards rain has never changed. Even in the midst of a severe drought, I do NOT like rain. I prefer to keep dry. However. I must agree that attitudes, likes and dislikes do change over the years.

    I also agree that life is not all sunshine. Things will not always go ‘right’ – not according to us, anyway. As a blood-bought, adopted child of God, when we look back on the worst parts of our life, we can praise Him for them, for we can see them as times of growth – times when God really worked in us, moulding us into His image.

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your first motorbike ride this year!

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | June 30, 2014 | Reply

    • My first ride went very nicely. I was a bit concerned that it would aggravate my problem but it did not. There was great rejoicing and thanking God going on with my husband and I. And yes, we ran into rain. It was a hard rain, almost to the point of hail. But I was grateful to be on the bike and the humor of actually running into rain out weighed the actual pain.

      Oh how we need those times of growth. I often tell people that the only way to grow in patience is to be put in a situation where you need to have patience. It is in those times that we learn how to be patient. Waiting in line at the store or a restaurant almost never bothers me. – notice I said almost 🙂 These last 3 months have taught me so much about myself and priorities and waiting. I know that God is not done using this issue to show me important things and for my growth.

      Comment by Gloria | July 1, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

