Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

perspective – gratitude – wonder

live out loud

Some songs are as powerful the 100th time you hear it as it was the first time you heard it.    I hope you  still feel small when you stand beside the ocean.   PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!

the Badlands of SD

“I hope you never lose your sense of wonder.”

This year we took our ’83 Yamaha on a Parks Run.  There weren’t any oceans on this trip.  There were lots and lots of mountains, hills and prairies.  I still felt small.  PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!

climbing

thought I was going to have to slide down on my behind but my knight rescued me!

thought I was going to have to slide down on my behind but my knight rescued me!

I did some climbing and found that the Badlands are made up of lots of loose rock.  It was a snap to climb up, but it was getting down where the challenge came in.  PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!

Mt Rushmore

Depending on the angle that you are viewing  the presidents and whether or not you have binoculars – will determine how big they seem.  PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!

in comparison

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance.  Never settle for the path of least resistance…….. And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance — I hope you dance.” 

I take lots of pictures because pictures are right up there with my most favorite things.  Pictures tell the story.  Keeping things in perspective reduces stress.  Does it really matter?  Is it worth getting frustrated?  In the scope of the next five years – will it even be remembered?    Don’t fear those mountains.

Every time we take a long motorcycle trip, God does a deep work in me.   It is one of the things I love most about our trips.  — 13 days of just me, my hubby and God!  It is the closest thing we seem to get to a sabbatical.

blue skies, green grass and gorgeous scenery

blue skies, green grass and gorgeous scenery

“Time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along.  Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone………”

I don’t want to miss out on living because I was too busy to notice.  I have heard it said that “life is what happens while you are making other plans.”   I challenge you to stop, look around you, and really take in the moment.   Allow yourself to be right where you are, not looking ahead to the next thing on the agenda or playing the “I’ll be happy when” game.  This is a flower from my garden that was blooming whether or not I took the time to notice.

look what was hiding

PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!  The flower is now in a vase on my dining room table.

mighty close

 

“I hope you never lose your sense of wonder.”

We had a number of these close encounters with Bison.  He is just out for a stroll.  I have not lost my sense of wonder.  I am ever grateful that he kept strolling.  It certainly put things into perspective.

be careful where you stand

be careful where you stand

There were many signs warning you to stay on the path because the earth was unstable.  There were many places at Yellowstone where I felt small and would just stand quietly in awe and wonder.   What a vast area of land filled with beauty that words or pictures just don’t do it justice.  Our God is so very creative.  PERSPECTIVE, GRATITUDE, and WONDER!

postcard perfect

beautyOn one side you could view the top picture.  The next picture shows the view on the other side.  So many thoughts filled my head as we would walk the trails viewing the upper and lower falls.  I have not lost my sense of wonder.    Have you?

elkLast picture.  This one I had to climb over fallen trees to get to a spot where I could truly capture the beauty.  Sometimes in life there will be  obstacles that  stand in our way.

I received a bracelet from a friend that says “When God guides, God provides.”    He will enable us to conquer the mountains that come along our path.  2 Samuel 2:30 and Psalm 18:29 both say that — For by Thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall.    Sounds like taking life by storm and making the most of all that God has for us!!

If you haven’t listened to this song in a while – here it is.  I hope you Dance!

Til next time

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

August 3, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, motorcycle, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Gloria, thanks for taking me along on your jaunt and for the life lessons along the way.
    Perspective, gratitude and wonder – constants in our life as we praise God for all His care for us.
    Dancing physically not possible now, but I’m dancing in the spirit.

    Comment by meetingintheclouds | August 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Angela, you bless my heart. Just wanted you to know that!! We may never met this side of heaven but one day…..

      Comment by Gloria | September 15, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

