Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

in my weakness

Music soothes the soul.  At least good music does.

Sometimes I hear a song and it just soothes my  heart like comfy slippers wrapping around my tired feet.

“Oh I may not understand but I will lift my eyes and trust this is Your plan…… I won’t let go of You now because I know, Oh, You’re not shaken.”  (You’re Not Shaken by Phil Stacey)

It  has been over six months now.  In the scope of eternity that really isn’t a long time but it in the world of pain and discomfort it is pretty significant.  I have a chronic fissure.  If you don’t have a clue what that is then take a moment and just thank God that you have not had one nor know anyone who has.  I had finally reached a point where I was almost 100% when it opened again.  (click here for a previous blog on this fissure journey) 

Michael W. Smith’s song “Sovereign Over Us”  is the song that wrapped itself around my troubled heart this morning.

It is like a waterfall to my soul.

falls

“There is strength within the sorrow
There is beauty in our tears
And You meet us in our mourning
With a love that casts out fear
You are working in our waiting
You’re sanctifying us
When beyond our understanding
You’re teaching us to trust”

God is indeed working in my waiting, waiting for healing and teaching me to trust Him more.  As is the case with life, this isn’t the only thing on my plate that I am dealing with.  When the fissure came I was still grieving my mother’s death, 3 1/2 months ago my daughter-in-law  left my son (grieving the loss of my daughter and seeing  my son deal with this deep form of pain), and I fractured my foot all while life and ministry marches on.

two peas in a pod - well almost :(

two peas in a pod – how I miss what we had

exchanging the boot for matching shoes - YAY!

exchanging the boot for matching shoes – YAY!

Sometimes people think that ministers are exempt from problems.  Ministers place themselves on the front line of the battle (and so do those who are actively following Christ.)  And yes there is a battle.  My husband said it best.  “People are not the problem.  People are the prize.  The battle is not with people.  The battle is for people.  God loves them.  We try to show them the love of God.”  This comes at a cost.  This stirs up and angers the enemy but greater is He that is in us!! (1 john 4:4)

I have had people tell me that Curt and I are lucky to have each other.  Lucky?  Luck has nothing to do with it.

laughter

It isn’t luck. It is being obedient to God and His Word. We have each other not because it has always been easy or we have never been disappointed in the other one but because we made a vow to love, honor and cherish til death parts us.  We both know that whatever comes our way we can and will with God’s help work through it together.  A great marriage takes trust, commitment and work of both partners. There is no luck involved.  God blesses obedience in more ways than we will ever realize. Our marriage is strong, healthy and fun because we both desire to walk with God in obedience.

the Song goes on to say:

“Reigning high above the Heavens
Reaching down in endless grace”

Grace – prior to this latest health issue I often stated that ‘in my weakness He is strong, I am nothing without Him.”  (2 Cor 12:9, John 15:5)

“My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.”

Looking back I wonder — is this a Job affliction?  Did the enemy of my soul ask for me to be tested in a mighty way?  Can I say as Paul did –

“Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.”  (The Message 2 Cor 12:10)

Michael W. Smith goes on to sing:

“Even what the enemy means for evil
You turn it for our good
You turn it for our good and for Your glory
Even in the valley, You are faithful
You’re working for our good
You’re working for our good and for Your glory”

From glory to glory (2 Cor 3:18) faith to faith (Rom 1:17) strength to strength (Psalm 84:7) grace upon grace (John 1:16) God is an ever-present help in trouble (Psalm 46:1) and He will see me (us) through.

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

September 25, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, relationships, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

