Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a couple easy Thanksgiving recipes

For years I have been looking for a stuffing recipe that would take the place of  Stove Top Stuffing.   While I absolutely love Stove Top and I almost always have a box on hand,  I can remember my dad making stuffing from scratch.  As a 17-year-old (the age I was when my father got very sick and later that year died) I didn’t think about getting recipes from him.  I don’t know if he always loved to cook.  He was a cook in the Army and some of my fondest memories are of him letting me help in the kitchen.  Most girls learn from their mother.  I learned from my dad.  However, my mom made the best desserts and treats.

Rachel Ray was doing her A to Z Thanksgiving recipes.  While I have only watched a part of one of her shows in the past, I decided to see what it was all about.  She grabbed my attention right away with her A is for Apple Stuffing.

Apple Stuffing

1 stick of butter – I used about 2/3 of a stick
Heart of celery – including leafy tops – chopped
2 medium onions – chopped
2 apples – cubed – skin on
Cook the above til tender. Do not over cook.
Add:
4-5 cups cubed croutons (I made my own which was part of the fun for me and reminded me of my dad.)
Sprinkle with poultry seasoning. Add fresh parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. Since I didn’t have fresh I used dried – 1 tsp of each.
Add 2 bay leaves.
Next pour turkey stock over it. (I prefer a dry stuffing so I didn’t soak it. Also you can use Chicken broth.)
Grease pan – pour dressing into pan – dot with butter. (I did not add the additional butter)
Bake 350 for 25 -30 minutes or desired texture.

Rachel Ray's Apple Stuffing  I am pretty sure my dad did not add apples but this stuffing is fabulous and has bumped Stove Top right off the shelf.  The process was very much  “Suzy Homemaker.”  It was exactly what I was looking for.   Oh, and the house smelled wonderful!!

By the way, the leftovers make wonderful turkey, stuffing, and cranberry sandwiches.

leftoversI love trying new recipes.  Sometimes they flop but even then the process is still fun.  I am always ripping out recipes to try at a later date.

I have been wanting to try this Hawaiian Cake recipe.  I must have really wanted to try it because I had two recipes in my stack.  (Doesn’t everyone one have a pile of recipes that one day you want to try?)  One was called Hawaiian Cake and one was called Pineapple Cake.  They were very similar but I went with the Pineapple Cake because of the toasted coconut.

Pineapple Cake/Hawaiian Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
1 – 20 oz can crushed pineapple (do not drain)
Mix
Grease a 9X13 pan. Bake 350 for 35-40 or until top is golden. Let cool.
Topping:
1 C nuts chopped (I used almonds)
1 C coconut
Toast in oven for 10 minutes. Watch closely. Should be golden brown in color.
Frosting:
1 stick softened butter
1 – 8 oz cream cheese
1 tsp vanilla
Beat together. Add 1 ½ C powdered sugar
Frost cake. Add topping right before serving.

 

Pineapple cakeThis is a moist cake.  If you like pineapple and coconut, you will love this cake.  I think I will go have a piece right now.  It makes a great breakfast!

Happy Thanksgiving.  May we live with a thankful heart each day of the year!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

November 25, 2014 - Posted by | recipes | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I like it when you try new recipes.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | December 1, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

