Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

tis the season

Tis the season……….

Merry Christmas

For unto us a Child is born!

 

In my head – I think this time of year should be filled with evenings at home, fireplace roaring, feet kicked up, hot chocolate with lots of mini marshmallows and my husband sitting next to me.    I was looking over our schedule for this week (after finally getting home Sunday at 6:15 – having left the house at 8:00 that morning)  and my husband informs me that three evening commitments (out of the next four nights) is not too bad.

When did that get to be not too bad, I wondered??

Don’t burn out; keep yourselves fueled and a flame. Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant. Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality.” (Jeremiah 29:11-13 The Message)

“Don’t burn out …. don’t quit in hard times.”  

If things came at us one at a time, maybe quitting would never come up.  However, life – much of the time- comes at as like the title of a movie “fast and furious.”   So how do we not burn out?

“keep yourselves fueled and a flame”

If I don’t take time to read the Bible I can tell a difference.  If I go for a couple of days – those closest to me know something is off.  If I go for more than a couple of days — well I am pretty much parched – a very dry land with no fresh Word to give others. As a minister this is not a good thing but truthfully it isn’t just about ministers.  As a Christian this is not a good thing.

If I am too busy to read the Word, then I am way too busy.  The Word equips, encourages, renews, strengthens, and disciplines me.  I choose whether or not it is a priority.    Yet, even reading every day I can find myself exhausted at the end of the day.  Sometimes I try to do more in my day than God ever intended.  Learning to have balance is important to finishing well.  Then there are just some days that are beyond my control and yet God’s grace is sufficient.

“be alert servants of the Master”

Am I distracted by the whole host of things needing my attention or am I alert?  Do I have a servant’s heart or do I behave like it is all about me?

“cheerfully expectant”

What is my demeanor?  When others looks at me – do they see someone who is cheerful and expecting good?  This one has been a challenge for me these last nine months.  The various levels of pain that I have dealt with meant cheerful was something I had to do on purpose even when I didn’t ‘feel’ it.  I was reminded over and over again of what my daddy would tell me.  If you have to do something, you might as well do it with a smile.

Smiling through pain is a sacrifice of praise.

“Pray all the harder”

This one I have nailed down.  I find myself praying when I go to bed, when I wake in the middle of the night and before I get up.  Then throughout the day – well, everywhere I look there are things that only God can do, so I pray.  When I am on facebook I pray.  People are facing huge and small things and all of it can be covered in prayer.  Prayer is inviting God into the situation.  It is also a reminder to me that without Him, I am nothing.  Prayer keeps me connected with God all through the day.

“help needy Christians”

What does this mean to you?

There are so many ways we can help.  The question I ask myself regularly is “What does God want me to do with my day today and  who can I help?”

“be inventive in hospitality”

I love this — not because I am so very good at it but because it means I don’t have to do hospitality the way my momma did it.   Who has time for that?  It is a different world and yet I can find inventive ways to be hospitable.

Don’t burn out; keep yourselves fueled and a flame. Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant. Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality.” (Jeremiah 29:11-13 The Message)

 

tis the season 🙂

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

December 18, 2014 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

