Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

fear or faith – you choose

Fear cripples faith.  Faith overcomes fear!

Fear will try to keep me confined in my comfort zone.  I have come to realize that ‘comfort zones’ are really just a way to avoid embracing life.  It seems God is always nudging me to step out in faith and what an adventure it is!!

Fear is controlling.  It will try to limit what  a person does.  Bad decisions are often the result of fear.    Being afraid will create distance, both in our relationship to God and to others.  Fear will cause people to try to control or manipulate a situation/person.  Truth is the only person we have control over is ones self.

fear not

 

I am a firm believer that I have nothing to fear because truly my God is an ever-present help in trouble, (Psalm 46:1) I am His and I am safe in His embrace. (Proverbs 18:10, 29:25)  Yet, I have become aware that I have let fear sneak in the back door of my life.

I love that about God – how at just the right time, in just the right way,  He spotlights an area that needs attention.

Chronic pain is a cruel friend.  Last March I started a journey with pain that has been like no other journey.  Chronic pain will change a person.  There was a point where I was well aware of fear trying to control me.  The pain was constant and at times it would be excruciating.   There was no pill that would help with the pain.   I found myself crying out “oh no, no, pleeeeeaaassssse no!”   Fear had stepped in.  I think fear tops chronic pain in the cruel friend department.

Fear cripples faith.  Faith overcomes fear!  

When I realized this, I changed my words to “Jesus, Jesus help me!”  The pain was still there but I was changing.  I believe in the healing power of God.  Until then, in acceptance there is peace – accepting that God, for reasons I could not figure out, had allowed this in my life — accepting that God will use it for good and accepting that it is what it is.

Slowly the pain diminished.  I  would start to get better and then I would have a set back.  I would make plans and have to change them.  The day finally arrived when I could sit without pain.  God was indeed walking me through this ordeal.

Now the muscle is no longer angry and screaming for attention.   Pain is pretty much all gone, but I know that it could come back.  History tells me that I am one small step away from reoccurring  chronic pain.  That knowledge has allowed a fragment of fear to cause me to check for the telltale signs and breathe a sigh of relief when they aren’t there.    I didn’t realize that fear was the underlying cause of that action.

God doesn’t want me (or you) to live with fear.

Faith in God overcomes fear.  Is fear trying to grip you?  Maybe it is a health issue (yours or someone you love dearly) — maybe it is financial,  it could be job related, fear knows no limit.  Don’t let fear sneak in.  I encourage you to trust God, to let your faith rise up, to hold fast to the knowledge that God is for you and with you.

“We walk by faith and not by sight.”  (2 Cor 5:7)

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

January 22, 2015 - Posted by | ministry, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

