Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

when I sit in darkness

I was sitting in the church office last Saturday night after everyone had left the Bike Show when I sent out an SOS to God.  I was to preach in the morning and I had nothing.  I had all sorts of topics floating around in my head earlier, but now I had nothing.

It has been a rough couple of weeks.  My mother-in-law went to be with Jesus.   The Bike show had to be rescheduled due to rain. I was drowning in paper work.   I am still dealing with tennis elbow.  I was physically and emotionally exhausted.

That is when I felt the nudge to pick a card out of my bread basket.

bread basket

(I bought this box when I worked at the eye clinic. After a phone call with an insurance company, I would reach for a scripture to redirect my thoughts.  It worked beautifully.)

just so happenedMicah 7:8b “When I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a light unto me.”

The room wasn’t dark, but my soul (will, mind, and emotions) felt surrounded by darkness.

Darkness can come in many forms.  Here are just a few forms.

pain
heart-break
pressure of deadlines
health issues
situation that looks bleak
loneliness/sadness
betrayal
tough situations with no good options
finances
seeing your child hurting and knowing you can’t fix it
loss

God uses circumstances in our life to open our eyes to a deeper awareness of His presence.  It seems in my life, the larger the trial – the greater God’s grace, goodness, and strength is being poured into my life.

Sunday morning before church I received a text from a dear friend.  All it said was Rom 15:13.  It was a big warm hug from God and a reminder that I am loved.    See that is my go-to scripture.  I was about to preach on hope and hadn’t included it.  God doesn’t leave us hanging.

“Now, may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you will overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

I shared Psalm 130.  I encourage you to read the whole thing as it is powerful.  For this blog I am centering on the key verses I addressed.

“1Out of the depths I have cried to You, O Lord.
….

I wait for the Lord, my soul does wait,
And in His word do I hope.
My soul waits for the Lord
More than the watchmen for the morning;
Indeed, more than the watchmen for the morning.
O Israel, hope in the Lord;
For with the Lord there is lovingkindness,
And with Him is abundant redemption.”  Psalm 130 NASB)

On Spring break I took the opportunity to see the sky before the dawn.  Sometimes there was the light reflecting off the moon. The gulf was stunning.   Sometimes it was pitch black.   I could hear the waves but I could not see them.  Other times there was such a thick fog that the buildings security light could not even be seen.

When I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a light to me!

Sometimes it can seem like morning is never coming.  Keep holding on to God.  He is an ever-present help in trouble.  (Psalm 46:1)

“I waited patiently for God to help me; then he listened and heard my cry.  He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out from the bog and the mire, and set my feet on a hard, firm path, and steadied me as i walked along.”  Psalm 40:1-2 (Living Bible)

Sometimes it seems like we are crossing a mud pit.  Keep holding on to God.  He will steady you.

“Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.”  Psalm 33:20 (NASB)

Wait  –  I love Webster’s first definition.  “remain in readiness or expectation”

How do we wait patiently?  We do it with God’s help.  We are given plenty of opportunities to practice the discipline of waiting patiently.

Our God is not hindered or limited by the things that we see that make us feel helpless.  Let that sink in.  Then pray.  Maybe there is nothing we can do physically but we know the One who is able to do more than we can ask or think. (Eph 3:20)  Our God is greater than whatever it is we are facing, our children are facing and/or our nation is facing.  Prayer is powerful!

“When I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a light unto me.”

God uses circumstances in our life to open our eyes to a deeper awareness of His presence.

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May 9, 2015 - Posted by | ministry, sermon notes, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

