Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

what are we missing?

I received this in the mail yesterday.

cell phone

We have had our cell phones for 14 years – I barely remember what it was like before cell phones.

My husband did not want a cell phone.  An emergency situation was the final determining factor in seeing the need for a pastor to have a cell phone .

I enjoyed greatly the fact that our boys had cell phones when they got their first vehicles.  There was a sense of relief that they were only a phone call a way if they had problems.

Then came texting. How did we get along with it?  Yet, how has it impacted conversations?

Somewhere in there I became a blogger.  Next I jumped on the Facebook bandwagon.  I have not joined any other social media site, nor have I joined pintrest.  Yet social media has impacted my life.

I talked my husband into getting smart phones when we were taking our old motorcycle to the Grand Canyon.   A GPS and google came in very handy.

I love my phone.  As of this moment, I have 1,240 pictures on it.  I say this moment because before the day is over I will probably have at least one more.

That said, I also hate my phone.  I seemed to be chained to it.  Yes, I have checked Facebook before getting out of bed.  It has consumed more of my life than it should.

I saw an article about the simplicity of flip phones and mentioned it to one of my sons.  He has refused to get a smart phone and still uses his flip phone.  He then showed me this YouTube video.

The guy starts out with “I have 422 friends, yet I am lonely.  I speak to all of them everyday yet none of them really know me…....”

It has griped my heart and I am not a great abuser.  That said, I will be making some changes.

There is a line in this that jumped out at me.

We are a generation of idiots, smart phones and dumb people.  So look up from your phone, shut down the display, take in your surroundings, make the most of today……..”

Has social media replaced human contact?  Is it easier for you to ‘talk’ on Facebook than to carry on a conversation eye to eye? When with others, are you ‘with’ them or are you more concerned about what is going on in social media?  I do think we have become a society that is too accessible to a device that should connect us but just might be isolating us.

For me, I am making some changes.  I will let you know how it goes.

My phone is meant to be a tool not a noose around my neck.

What are we missing by looking down at our phone and not around at our surroundings?

till next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

June 23, 2015 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, life lessons, living in a fish bowl, ministry, motorcycle, relationships | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

