Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

today……………….

Would you classify your life as busy?  Maybe too busy?

Do you find there is more to be done than time or energy to do it?

Are the primary emotions you are feeling frustration, anger, or dread?

Are you excited about a new project only to quit half way through it?  (I remember an afghan that I started in high school and finally finished it 10 years or so later – only to  get rid of it because the colors were horrible. Lesson learned.)

When it is time to fulfill a commitment you made, do you find that you dread the thought of it?  (It is fun to say yes and have others happy with you but at what cost?)

Do you feel your worth is wrapped up in what you do?

still waters

He leads me beside still waters —   who is doing the leading in your life?

When my ‘waters’ seem anything but still, I need to ask myself ‘who is doing the leading?’ Then I either need to say “Jesus take the wheel” or if He is at the wheel then ask Him to calm the storm – either the one raging outside or the one raging inside. It can be so easy to shift my focus to the raging waters instead of to the one who calms those waters.  Seeing all that needs to be done can cause me to take back the wheel.

Yes He leads me beside still waters and sometimes He even makes me to lie down in green pastures. Why does He ‘make me?’ Because I can tend to be task orientated.

I have a list of things that ‘must’ be done today.  My knee is not cooperating.    I was a bit frustrated because I made choices this week-end that should have helped.  We didn’t take in the parade or fireworks.  I did have my foot up and iced it, but this morning it is demanding rest.

“He makes me lie down in green pastures”

Last summer I spent the entire summer taking a 20 minute bath 4 times a day for a very painful issue.  Now that will put a halt on any to-do list.  This morning it hit me.   (Don’t you just love it when God has to bonk you on top of the head because you just wouldn’t get it any other way?) I need to take that time (20 minutes/4 x’s a day) to ice and prop up my leg.  Maybe then I will get the numbness to go away and the swelling to go down.  You think?  Sigh — but who has time for that.

“He makes me lie down in green pastures.”

I was also reminded this morning that part of what I feel compelled to do (and yet am not doing) is increase my reading.  Twenty minutes four times a day will help with that.

I am in need of calm waters and green pastures.  God has provided them for me.  Will I take advantage of them?

The Lord is my shepherd,
I shall not want.
He MAKES ME lie down in green pastures;
He LEADS ME beside quiet waters.
He RESTORES MY soul;
He GUIDES ME in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake. Psalm 23:1-3

Today I purpose to slow down – which is a good thing as I don’t seem to have a choice.   I do choose to  notice the beauty around me, relax in the green pasture, and enjoy the gift of today!

What about you?

looking for the fingerprints of God – they are everywhere! Lord open my eyes!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

July 6, 2015 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

