Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

d.r.a.w.

A quote by Chuck Swindol to start this blog  “We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.”

How we view these opportunities makes a huge difference in whether or not we walk in peace and love.  Do you see them as impossible situations or great opportunities?

On Sunday, a precious friend of mine handed me this quote by Joyce Meyers.

P1090800

James 4:7-8 gives us some insight on how to handle things that come our way.

  • submit to God
  • resist the devil and he will flee
  • resist -don’t get into agreement with him.

When he whispers things like this in your ear:
“here we go again”
“nothing is ever going to change”
“I can’t take it anymore”
“I quit”
“it is just too hard”
“I can’t help it.”
“if I had more time”
Resist it, take those thoughts captive, see them for what they are – excuses!  Don’t get in agreement with them.

  • refocus on God. Let your faith arise!

We are as close to God as we want to be.

— think about your reaction to that statement. When I first heard it, the first thing I thought of was all sorts of excuses – the biggest one being “If I just had more time”

Excuses give our flesh a reason to not deal with our actions/choices.

If you truly want something, you do whatever you can to get it.  You don’t give up; you keep going after it.

You are as close to God as you want to be.

Draw close to God and He will draw close to you — that is a promise!!

D.R.A.W.

D –Desire/ Delight Psalm 73:24-26 (NASB)

 “With Your counsel You will guide me,
And afterward receive me to glory.  

Whom have I in heaven but You?
And besides You, I desire nothing on earth.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Desire/delight – what does your speech reveal about you?

Do you magnify your problems or your God? What you magnify becomes larger. There is nothing that compares to our God and yet the way we can behave sometimes you would think God was limited and unable.

God is able!!!

 R – Rely Psalms 3:5-6

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”

Some things we just won’t understand, no matter how badly we want to make sense of it.  This is where our trust rises up.

I take God at His Word.  He will bring beauty out of ashes.   (Isa 61:3)  He will give me peace that goes beyond my understanding.  (Phil 4:7)

“God will give to us wisdom to know what to  do and strength to do it.”  Curt Girod

I am reminded of this old song:

“You are God and You live inside of me. You are light. You are the source of salvation. Fire of the night, You are the voice I choose to hear. You are creator of all things and you will meet my needs. You are God and You live inside of me.”

A – action Mat 5:16

“Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

No one is a bench warmer on God’s team. We are called to BE a witness. Be – action verb – showing continuous action.
Is God’s light shining brightly through you!

Don’t hide your talent.

Take action:
And by action I am not talking about defense – survival mode but offense action – go for the touchdown.

We are on the winning team. Be ready!! Be where you are suppose to be – be obedient.

When I am wrapped up in survival mode – defensive action:

  • I am focused on self preservation and can miss those around me that need my help, that need encouragement
  • I can lose sight of God’s promises
  • I can totally miss the presence of God of in my daily life

God is our defender. He will take care of us.  He is the only one needed on defense.

Amazing play by the Packers this week. 61 yard pass. What a throw. Did you see him grab on to that ball and hold on to it for dear life? What I noticed was the other team members jumping on him to make sure the ball didn’t get away. They had his back. Let’s be sure to have each others back in this thing called life.

P1090798

W–wait Isaiah 40:29-31

“He gives power to the weak,
And to those who have no might He increases strength.
Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
And the young men shall utterly fall,
But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.”

Wait is spending time in God’s presence.  Waiting on God  is trusting that He  is at work and He will make a way.

Impatience robs us of our peace and joy.

Wait is also to be in a state of readiness.  What we do while we wait is important.

A portion of the song written by John Waller, that resonates in my heart goes like this:

I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am hopeful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it is painful
But patiently, I will wait
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience
While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

 

Psalm 40:1-3

“I waited patiently for the Lord;
And He inclined to me and heard my cry.
He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay,
And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.
He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God;
Many will see and fear
And will trust in the Lord.”

How close do you really want to be to Jesus?

The only thing stopping you is you.  Draw near to Him.  Spend time with Him.  Get into His Word.  I recommend starting in the Gospel of John.  Find a church and go.  Don’t let excuses give your flesh a reason to stay away.  We need each other.   Let His light shine through you!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

December 8, 2015 - Posted by | ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife, relationships, sermon notes, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

