Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

change doesn’t happen just cuz you want it to

I enjoy tea.

Do I?  Really?

Or do I enjoy the idea of tea?

Let me explain.  I have 15 containers of tea.  Some of them hold an assortment of tea.  Seriously, how many different kinds of tea do two people need?
teaWhen my husband saw me taking a picture of all of our tea – his response was along the lines of – I guess we better be drinking tea!

For me, tea is all about  slowing down time, kicking my feet up, a tea cup in one hand and  a good book in the other. Since I rarely do that, I guess I must just like the idea of tea.

That is going to change.

I enjoy reading.

Do I?  Really?

Or do I enjoy the idea of reading?

A couple of years ago, if you had asked me how many books I had read recently – well let’s just say the answer would not have proven that I love to read. That all changed when I found myself dealing with a fissure and four 20 minute sitz baths every day.  Now I can say that I have read many, many books. (I read almost exclusively non-fiction books.)

Now that I am down to usually one sitz bath a day, I find myself  back to just liking the idea of reading again.

That is going to change.

Change – rarely happens all on its own – usually it takes effort and determination.  Reading and drinking tea is not something that is going to happen without my help. Change doesn’t just happen because I want it to.

Many people have made New Year’s resolutions and many of them are broken by now.  (Jan 2)  Change can be hard.  Good intentions can become an excuse as day after day goes by.

“I’ll do it tomorrow.”  Right!

It seems there is always something  that needs my attention.  Carving out time can be a challenge.  Yet, the alternative is that the longing in my heart for knowledge is being ignored.  Why is it that it is so easy to put off something I do just for me?

What are you putting off?  What good intentions are you not following through on?

How about making time now?  I am going to post this and then grab a cup of tea and my book “Extravagant Grace” and read a chapter.  I am confident that everything that needs to be done can wait that long.

My verse for today – “Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you will overflow by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

til next time

_____________________________

Any advertisement added here is placed here by WordPress and not endorsed by me.

_____________________________

January 2, 2016 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Procrastination is the thief of time. It is time for us to make the time for the things that need to be done

    Comment by Fashionable Librarian | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  2. I enjoyed the idea of tea. So I started trying some and ended up with stacks of it… until now, I really enjoy tea! PS I love reading.

    Comment by Vinny Grette | January 2, 2016 | Reply

    • There are a lot of wonderful teas and books out there 🙂 so far I am 2 for 2 – hoping today makes the third day in a row.

      Comment by Gloria | January 4, 2016 | Reply

  3. You can’t beat a nice up if tea and reading a book. Oh and an impressive tea selection by the way 😊☕️.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Comment by pinkiebag | January 2, 2016 | Reply

    • Thanks Pinkie!!

      Comment by Gloria | January 4, 2016 | Reply

  4. Absolutely perfectly said!!

    Comment by lindseasnow | January 2, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

