Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

survival or thrive?

Disappointment – how do you handle it?

Expectations — realistic — unrealistic —  can lead to disappointment.

Then what?

Do you slip into survival mode?  ‘I just have to get through this.’

grace to grace

Seven months ago I injured my left knee.  This was shortly after dealing with a bad case of tennis elbow and before that I fractured my foot.  Does make me think I should have a bubble wrap suit on at all times.

For months my knee was numb from about four inches above my knee cap to six inches below my knee cap.   The numbness was a blessing in disguise as it helped reduce the pain.  However, the numbness just didn’t seem to want to go away.

Shaving became an interesting experience.  While there wasn’t any sound, it still had the same effect as finger nails on a chalkboard every time the razor hit the numb area.

The doctor said that it would take months (even up to a year) to heal.  Months?  A year?  Oy!  Just a tad overwhelming.

Do I slip into survival mode – just hanging on until the day it is better?  What if that day never comes?

I didn’t realize how often I got on my knees or would squat down until I no longer could.  It has changed me.

This past week I had my last day of physical therapy for my knee.  PT has taken me as far as it can.  I must admit that when I first started I really thought it would help get me back to normal.

Disappointment — what if this is as good as it gets?

 From the end of the earth I will cry to You,
When my heart is overwhelmed;
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  Psalm 61:2 (NKJV)

Truth is, I am much better.  Most of the numbness is gone.  I now can kind of, sort of, get down on my knee.  Crawling on my knees is not pleasant. Getting up  requires some pre-planning but at least I can get down on my knees.    Squatting is still out of the question.  I never thought I would see the day when I missed squatting.

Disappointment.  It would be so easy to focus on the disappointment.  If not dealt with, disappointment can lead to frustration and an overwhelming sense of gloom.

Add to my recent disappointment with my knee, my post-op visit on Monday resulted in the need for another visit in 4 months.  The surgery wasn’t as successful as my gyno doctor led me to believe.  In addition, my anal fissure is still not healed resulting in an angry sphincter muscle, inflammation has landed in a finger joint  and I have developed tendinitis in my achilles’ tendon on my right heel.  Next week I start PT on that.  (I say all of this not for sympathy but so that you will know that when I say I understand pain, disappointment and the pull to slip into survival mode – I know what I am talking about.)

Pain rides on the heels of disappointment.  (heel – pun intended — it is good to keep a sense a humor)  It might be physical pain or sadness pain – in my case it is both.

Disappointment and/or pain –  how do you handle it?

For me, I took some time again to get into the truth.   Life really is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you handle it.   I choose to allow God to use this to further the work that He is doing in me.  After all I do believe that nothing takes God by surprise.  Whatever comes my way God will help me.  (Psalm 46:1) I choose to thrive, to grow, to flourish and to let God use this for His glory!

I refuse to let disappointment or negativity rule me.  When it rears its ugly head I will not get into agreement with it.  When the pain intensifies,  I may cry a bit or a lot depending on the pain level but ultimately I know that God will and is turning this around for good.  (Rom 8:28) I trust Him!

Malcom Muggeridge, brilliant British journalist puts it best –  “Everything I have learned in my 75 years in this world, everything that has truly enhanced my existence has been through affliction and not through happiness.”

I close with this scripture that is near to my heart.

So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.”  2 Cor 4:17-18 (The Message)

 

Don’t just survive.  Live each day with a purpose.  Thrive!  Grow!  Flourish!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

January 9, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

