Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

G.I.R.A.F.F.E

I love giraffes.    It was only a matter of time before I would come up with an acronym that I like.  While at the Chi Alpha SALT conference I came up with this one.  (SALT is a Friday – Monday conference of college students who are going all out for God — fully engaged!)

gir2

I can’t decide which picture I like better, so I will post both.  🙂

gir

Worshiping with hundreds of college students was fantastic.   There was also time spent in quiet reflection and study.  It has been ages since I have done any type of poetry or prose.  I am a bit rusty at it but, the creativity has been once again awakened.

what matters most?
is it those things that scream the loudest?
or is it that book on the shelf?
there it is –
just waiting to be picked up
that life changing book
pages and pages filled with hope
time spent with the living God
becoming more and more like His Son
what matters most?
who you are becoming –
that’s what matters most. (gg)

Jesus, to You I cling

to You I cling
at Your feet I bow down
kneeling before You
sensing your presence all around

not my will but Yours
to You be the glory
I am following You
as You unfold my story

not to the left or the right
but straight down the road
taking the path before me
knowing You carry my load

to You I cling
my heart sings Your song
kneeling before You
in my weakness You are strong

thank You Lord
for Your mercy and grace
thank You Lord
for helping me run this race (gg)

We had some amazing speakers who dealt with Marketplace ministry — letting God shine through you at your job.  I was reminded of that today in my devotions.  (1 Thess)

IMG_20160123_090115_464

Hmmm, what splashes out of you when you are bumped?  What is your response when things happen that you can’t control?

When God’s love fills us to overflowing – it is that love that will splash on others.  When God’s hope and love is evident in our lives – it becomes evident to those around us also.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you will overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

infused with strength and purity – filled with confidence — Yes!  Yes, I desire that.  Fill me up, Lord!

One more scripture from my devotions this morning.

IMG_20160123_090541_654

Get along, do your part, gently encourage, reach out, be patient, be careful, don’t snap, look for the best, bring out the best…

Do you look for the best in others?

Do you bring out the best in others?

I know for me, it doesn’t just happen – my eyes blinking – that just happens.

I am pretty sure that my daddy used that next verse as his reference when he told me that if I had to do something anyway – I might as well do it with a smile.  “Be cheerful no matter what…”

Lots of direction for day to day living in these verses.  I am grateful that it is God who flows through me, helping me to grow in all of this.  I am also grateful that the Lord is my portion – I hope in Him.  His compassion is new every morning.   (Lam 3:22-24)

Today is a new day filled with opportunities cleverly disguised as impossible situations.  God is the God of the impossible.  He will make a way.  I believe God!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

January 23, 2016 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, ministry, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

