Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a letter to his son

We have never met, but I feel like I know you.  Your dad spoke of you often.  His love for you was evident.  You filled his heart with such pride.

Each week he would be sitting there waiting for my visit.  I would sit down beside him and touch his hand.  His eyes would light up and a huge smile would form.

“It is Wednesday, I knew you would be coming,”  he would say.

I would hold his hand and we would talk.

Some days it was hard for him to accept that his life had reached this point.  His independence was gone and he didn’t want to be a burden to you.  Other days he would talk about days gone by.   Each day you were part of the conversation.   Finally,  we would pray.  His love for Jesus was also evident.

“You be sure to stop and see me next week,”  he would say as I got up to leave.   I would assure him that I would do just that.

I went to work yesterday and found out that he has passed from this life to the next.

I miss him.  I miss his smile.  I miss the way his eyes would sparkle when he was excited about something.   Yet, the realization that he is no longer using a walker, nor is his eye sight failing, his fight with sleep is no longer an issue but most importantly  he is with his Lord – this brings comfort to me.  I hope that this brings you comfort also.

Losing a father leaves a hole.  May God fill that hole with His peace.  Time does not heal all things.  It is God that brings healing.  God will use time to help you learn how to go on.   May you sense God’s comfort  today and in the days to come.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”  Psalm 23:4

    “Precious in the sight of the Lord
Is the death of His saints.”   Psalm 116:15

still waters

Being his chaplain was a blessing to me.

Sincerely,

Your father’s chaplain – your father’s friend

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

January 29, 2016 - Posted by | ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

