Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

dehydrated christian?

“O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You;
My soul thirsts for You…” Psalm 63:1

What do you do when you are thirsty?   Hopefully, you reach for a glass/bottle of water.

There have been times in my life when my body was thirsty but I didn’t recognize the signs so I reached for a piece of candy or some sort of snack food.  My body was thirsty and that didn’t fix the problem.

If I continue to ignore the signs that my body is in need of fluid, I will become dehydrated.

One of the first things that I look at when I get a headache is how much water I have been drinking. Headaches are a symptom of dehydration. The treatment for dehydration is to take in fluids.

wilted

in need of a drink of water

As Christians, there is a yearning in our heart for God.  If we don’t recognize that yearning we may reach for the latest video game, or go shopping, or call a friend.  We do all of this in an attempt to fill the void.

There are symptoms of becoming dehydrated as a Christian. Here are just a few – irritability, lack of joy, and discouragement.

 

Don’t become a dehydrated Christian.

An effective treatment is to immerse yourself in the Word of God and spend time in prayer casting your cares on Him. (1 Peter 5:7) Praise music is also effective in removing those symptoms. Attending church is another helpful remedy. Gathering together for worship, prayer and the Word strengthens us. There are no Lone Ranger Christians. We need each other.

To keep yourself from becoming dehydrated spend time alone with God, turn up some praise music, and make plans now to meet together at God’s house this weekend.

 

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

February 26, 2016 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

