Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

look out pride – the fall is coming

Arrogance is not a godly trait.  It is seeped in pride.   As a minister of the Gospel of Christ I have had numerous opportunities to extend grace and/or mercy to pride filled people.  It is not my job to change them.

It is my job to love them anyway.  It is my job to be an example.   However, it is also appropriate for me to set up boundaries. After all, God’s Word says to ‘guard my heart, above all else.’  (Proverbs 4:23)

This morning I was doing the dishes and just so happened to have K-Love on the radio.  Usually I listen to Joyce Meyer while doing dishes but not this morning.  I was thinking over a particular event that had recently occurred.  I really have an inward struggle with people who belittle other people or show superiority by making someone else look bad in public.    It breaks my heart when I see it happen to others and it hurts when it happens to me.

We are called to encourage, to come along side each other, to build up and not to tear down.  So when it happened to me I saw it for what it was — a little dig from the enemy.

So there I was doing dishes and thinking about what, if anything, I should have done or should do about this incident.  I do believe that as iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.  (Proverbs 27:17)   Yet, what is it God would have me do?

Then it happened.

God spoke to my heart and said ” Look at what happened next.”

Huh?  What?

What happened next?

Then it hit me.

Look out pride, the fall is coming. (Proverbs 16:18)   I wasn’t the one falling so I hadn’t recognized it.  Look out pride, there it was- the fall.   Yes, God loves this individual and He is working in their life and He is dealing with the arrogance.   I will continue to love and extend mercy and grace.  Why? Because we are all in need of it, including me.

Then this song came on:

“No matter what I face
You’re by my side
When you don’t move the mountains
I’m needing You to move
When you don’t part the waters
I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers
as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You.”

Lauren Daigle

til next time,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisements that you see on this blog are placed here by WordPress.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

February 29, 2016 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, pastor, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

