Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

motives & truth

Do you know what it is like to have someone question your motives?  It is one thing if they ask you personally, but usually they just discuss it with others under the assumption that they know all there is to know about the situation.  Such harm is done when people start jumping to conclusions about why someone did or didn’t do whatever.

Here is truth.

God knows our motives. It is possible to do the right actions but do it with wrong motives. It is not about ‘what’s in it for me.’ It is about bringing glory to God by how we live. It is about pointing people to Christ as they watch how we handle things. God will shed light on our motives.  He does know all there is to know about every situation.

“For I am conscious of nothing against myself, yet I am not by this acquitted; but the one who examines me is the Lord. Therefore do not go on passing judgment before the time, but wait until the Lord comes who will both bring to light the things hidden in the darkness and disclose the motives of men’s hearts; and then each man’s praise will come to him from God.” 1 Corinthians 4:4-5 (NASB)

It is important that we allow God to reveal to us areas that need attention. Maybe our attitude needs to be changed or a habit that is unhealthy needs to not be ignored anymore. Maybe an apology is due for something that was said or done.

Make amends.

One of my goals going into a tough situation is that I will not say or do anything that later I will need to apologize for. Succeeding at this (only happens with God’s help) means I am letting God work through me and saying no to my flesh.

Getting into the truth about my actions, words and part in a conflict is vital to being able to be a vessel God can use.  Staying in the truth is necessary if I want to continue to walk in victory.

I am a work in progress.  So are you!

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

any advertisements place here are done so by WordPress

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

June 1, 2016 - Posted by | ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

