Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

excuses won’t get you freedom

Sure I know that making an excuse can be the natural response for why you did or didn’t do something.    Excuses can seem to get us off the hook. But truthfully, excuses don’t help us walk in truth.  Excuses won’t help us grow.

Accountability and excuses don’t mesh. .

Don’t make excuses –  own your behavior and make amends.  Repent.

I had a meeting today 75 miles from home. I had never been there before. I did not want to go.  I told my husband, probably five times, that I did not want to go before I realized that I was grumbling.

“Do all things without grumbling or disputing;” Philippians 2:14 (NASB)

So, I needed to repent of a grumbly bad attitude.   Which I did.  I then asked God to help me have a good attitude and to remind me to smile.  My daddy always told me that if I had to do something, I might as well do it with a smile.

Once on the road, I talked with God about what was really going on?  What was the truth here?  I used to love to drive alone.    It was God, the music (crank it up) and me.   What had changed?

God quietly dropped a word into my heart.

Fear.

Fear?   What?   I am not afraid.  I have worked through all that a long time ago.

No, the truth was that fear was what was driving my desire to not want to go. — fear of driving alone, getting lost, and/or being stranded on the highway.

Fear will stop us from doing things. Fear cripples us.

“Fear not, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed. I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.” Isaiah 41:10 (TLB)

There are so many scriptures on fear not. Yet if we are not careful, fear can sneak in.  Like me, you may not even be aware it is there but it will affect your behavior.

I repented of letting fear dominate a portion of my life.   I continued on to my meeting — Fearless!

Sure, I missed my turn, but you know what? It was ok.

What’s holding you back?   Do you find yourself grumbling?   What does God want to deal with in your everyday life that might be hindering you?

“You therefore, beloved, knowing this beforehand, be on your guard so that you are not carried away by the error of unprincipled men and fall from your own steadfastness, but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory, both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:17-18 (NASB)

Good-bye fear, hello freedom!

waters

 

 

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~any advertisements are placed here by WordPress~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

August 30, 2016 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, ministry, pastor, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

