Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

quiet place to rest

rest

Recently, I was talking with a friend about the importance of answering the call to “Come away” and how easy it can be to ignore that call or put it off until a more convenient time. Our lives are full and our schedules are packed.

Mark 6:31 (NASB) “And He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a secluded place and rest a while.” (For there were many people coming and going, and they did not even have time to eat.)

If it weren’t for fast food restaurants and processed quick foods, many of us wouldn’t have time to eat. (The drawbacks with that type of food is a topic for another day.)

Awhile back,  I talked about making ordinary things extraordinary.  Yet while all of these things are helpful, the call to me to “come away to a secluded place” is greater than just the ordinary places. Maybe that will mean getting up a half hour earlier. It could mean turning off the tv and going to a quiet place instead. It could mean clearing a couple hours of your day to just ‘be still’ or journal your thoughts about the magnificence of our God.

I thought when I was no longer bi-vocational that time would just present itself. After all, I was not going to fill up my calendar. Right?? Dropping into bed at night dog tired would be a thing of the past.

My devotional life is active and vibrant but my schedule is void of much wiggle room. I need wiggle room. Recently, I found myself once again dropping into bed dog tired. In the stillness of the night I heard the call loud and clear. “Come away with me to a quiet place.”

And I did!

Now ‘quiet place’ is a part of my scheduling.

When was the last time you freed your schedule to find a ‘quiet place’?

til next time

~~~~~~~~~~~~advertisements placed here by WordPress~~~~~~~~

September 15, 2016 - Posted by | pastor, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections, Woman Pastor | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Nice post and picture to go with it!

    Comment by Shofar | September 15, 2016 | Reply

    • thank you! I was blessed to have such an opportunity to take this picture at Yellowstone National Park

      Comment by Gloria | September 16, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

