Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

permission to grieve

I will start off with acknowledging that in the realm of eternity, this is minor.  Things could have been soooo much worse.  Yet in order to move forward,  I needed to face  this new reality.  In doing so, I gave myself  permission to grieve.

For almost three years I have not felt well.  It has been one thing after another and some unanswered questions along the way.

Friday I went to my family doctor, explained that I was so very tired of hurting, and asked him if he thought it was related to my uterus.  (There are some issues going on with it.)  Could it be my appendix?  Although the majority of  pain is on my left side.

He sent me over for a CT scan with dye. For breakfast –   a barium smoothie.  He had me to wait at the hospital (with the IV in my arm) for the results.  Oh, it could have been so much worse.

Good news – no infection, no perforation,  and no blockage.  I do have diverticular disease.   My large intestine is filled with small and medium pockets.   It explains the random bleeding and the pain.

My doctor explained to me that there are two rules of thought.  One is to avoid nuts and seeds.  The other thought is that it makes no real difference.  My doctor is of the first opinion and he recommended that I abstain for all nuts, seeds, popcorn…   I have numerous pockets and with their size, it just isn’t worth the risk.  I am already having pain and some bleeding.  He is hopeful that diet and extra strength Tylenol  will quiet things down.

My sister and her family were coming for the weekend.  A house full of people, two guinea pigs, a dog, our  cat and lots of Christmas celebrations all kept my mind occupied.  What a wonderful blessing from God.

Today I gave myself permission to grieve — I love popcorn – it is common for me to have popcorn 2 – 5 times a week.  My favorite candy bar is salted nut roll with Snickers following close behind.  Pecans, cashews, peanuts, peanut m & m’s, caramel corn, buster bar, turtle blizzard, granola, peanut brittle, cashew chicken, sesame chicken, poppy seeds, ….. the list goes on.

I remind myself that God is the healer.  Just today a friend of mine was released from the hospital.  Last night things did not look good.  Today she is home recovering.  Yes, I know God heals.  I also know that He expects us to use our brain and not be presumptuous.

So I will follow my doctor’s orders.

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven— ……………A time to weep and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn and a time to dance”  Ecclesiastes 3:1 & 4

The time of grieving is over.  It is time to laugh and dance.  God’s grace is enough!

Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.” Proverbs 31:25

More importantly, I will smile at the future.   My hope is in God and He does not change.

(If you have diverticular disease, diverticulitis, diverticulosis  I would love to hear from you.  What do you find helps?  How are you handling it?)

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

til next time

_____________advertisements are placed here by WordPress______________

 

 

 

 

December 27, 2016 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great word!!! Our beautiful Jesus is the healer! Praying for you and for healing!!!

    Comment by brightpassionblog | December 29, 2016 | Reply

    • Thank you! Prayer is powerful and I very much appreciate it!!

      Comment by Gloria | December 29, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

