Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

money – do you have enough?

What role does money play in my life? 

Money consumes some people.  There are those who are in financial disarray.  Financial matters are one of the leading causes of  problems in marriage. 

Money is a part of every day life.  Ask just about anyone these days, and you will see that changes have been made in how they handle their money or they are drowning in debt or that money is at least an issue.  Stress over money is on the rise.  I don’t have to look far to see that ‘cut backs’ are happening everywhere.  Prices go up and wages go down. 

Hubby and I have been re-evaluating our budget.  This is not something I enjoy.  However, I do enjoy not living in debt.   So when the money coming in decreases then the money spent needs to decrease.  Oh if only the government would catch on to that. 

Compared to a lot of people, we are extremely good budgeteers.   Yet there is room for improvement.  I realized  this past week-end that if  I compare myself to my sister-in-law then I have much room for improvement.  I don’t generally play the compare game.  Yet sometimes it can be helpful.  I believe God was showing me that good enough is only mediocre. 

It is my desire to be a great steward of the money God has blessed us with.  I heard about a bumper sticker that says “Living with less so we can give more.”     That just resonated with my whole being!!!  

God is allowing our finances to be juggled.  Along with the inspiration from Di, on that return trip I read the book  “Take God at His Word – Experience the Power of Giving” by Dr Kregg Hood.  Coincidence?  I don’t believe so. 

The Bible is the best book on money.   There are a lot of other books out there on this topic but I am not impressed with most of them.  However, Dr Hood writes in an easy reading style while getting to the heart of the matter.

One of my favorite quotes from the book is

We don’t give to be blessed, we give because we are blessed.”  (p.30)

The book is about taking God at His Word.  There are four main Words that Dr Hood addresses.  

 Word One “I will make you rich in every way.” 

Word Two “I want you to tithe so I can reward you.” 

 Word Three “I trust you to manage material resources.”  

Word Four “I will help you give more than you can imagine.”  

 After each Word there is   a ‘think it thru’ section at the end.  It is useful for applying what the Word says to life.

Since my first babysitting job, I have practiced tithing.  My parents led by  example and demonstrated  the importance and the benefits of tithing.   God tells us to “test Him in this.”  (Malachi 3:10)   

I also tithe because of the consequences of not tithing.  There are many Christians who struggle in this area and have allowed fear to hinder their thinking.   It is a huge trust issue but I can think of no one that I could possibly trust more than God.   He is my source, my provider.  Giving back to Him is my expression of that trust and faith. 

“If you’re experiencing great financial difficulty, have you considered the possibility that you might be living under an easily reversible curse? ”  (p.37)

If you haven’t a clue what the Bible says about money or if your finances are a mess I highly recommend that you pick this book up.  It will change how you look at money. 

The book is also helpful to those of us who are good stewards of our money.    It has encouraged me to press on to be a ‘great’ steward of all that God has blessed me with.

til next time

March 19, 2010 - Posted by | spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Giving is indeed powerful. Great quote from page 30. A true gift is given without conditions.

    Comment by T Silver | March 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks T Silver for stopping by. Yes indeed a true gift is given without conditions. That is one reason why I encourage people to give anonymously. It stops any conditions intentionally or unintentionally from being put on the gift. It frees the receiver to do whatever he/she feels lead to do with the gift. (Sometimes I am given things that are truly not meant for me but for someone the giver doesn’t even know) Finally, one of my favorite reasons is that others can not assume ulterior motives because they also don’t know where the gift came from.

      Comment by Gloria | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. A curse is a blessing in disguise 🙂 Always! Reverse is true as well.. such is the mystery of this world!

    Comment by Kamal Thakur | March 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Kamal – the curse I refer to taken from the book (p.37) is no blessing in disguise. There is a huge difference between bad things happening for a reason that we may or may not understand. Sometimes when all is said and done the ‘bad’ thing that happened is indeed a blessing. This falls under the “all things work together for good to them that love the Lord….” from Romans 8.

      However, the curse spoken of here is a promise from God that if we (christians) choose to trust our money more than we trust God and choose to ignore tithing and giving of offerings then we suffer the consequences of that choice. The good news is that we can reverse that just by choosing to trust God and be good stewards of our money.

      I much prefer to focus on the blessings listed here but it is an if/then kind of thing.

      Malachi 3:8-11 (New International Version)

      8 “Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me.
      “But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’
      “In tithes and offerings. 9 You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me. 10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. 11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit,” says the LORD Almighty.

      Comment by Gloria | March 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. The bumper sticker sounds like Dave Ramsey’s “live like no one else so that you can LIVE (and GIVE) like no one else!” I’m sure you have read his stuff?

    Comment by Sarah | March 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Sarah – actually I am married to a man who could have taught Dave Ramsey. 🙂 I say that tongue in cheek but truthfully he is really a great budgeteer! That said, I think Dave Ramsey conferences are an absolutely great tool for anyone not married to a financial guru.

      Love that quote too!!

      Comment by Gloria | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. Tithing, budgeting, the difference between “need” and “want”; these things bring me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | March 19, 2010 | Reply

    • I hear there is a cure for that!!! 😛

      Comment by Gloria | March 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment